Private sector engagement

The private sector is the world's biggest employer and plays an important role in economic growth and sustainable development. Switzerland's International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 aims to expand cooperation with the private sector and exploit its potential to promote sustainable development in the countries of the South and East.

The International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 sees great potential in private sector engagement. The private sector creates around 90% of all jobs worldwide and has a key role to play in implementing sustainable development. The innovative power, expertise and resources of private-sector companies are necessary for the implementation of international cooperation activities. The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) is diversifying and strengthening partnerships with the private sector, for example by working with social enterprises, impact investors and grant-making foundations.

Initial successes

The SDC has already established partnerships with the private sector through its development cooperation in the past. After initial successes and numerous different experiences, Switzerland is developing these partnerships further and refining its criteria for cooperation. Together with private actors, it is developing innovative solutions to give companies access to financing and provide investors with new investment opportunities. Switzerland remains committed to ensuring that its private sector partners respect human rights and meet ecological, social and governance standards.

Targeted engagement

Switzerland's international cooperation already works in a targeted manner with the private sector, including the financial sector, in order to jointly contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals. Swiss Humanitarian Aid also makes use of private sector know-how, recruiting experts from the private sector for the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit and using the sector's logistics and material procurement channels.

Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor

Der Privatsektor ist weltweit der wichtigste Arbeitgeber und spielt eine wichtige Rolle für das Wirtschaftswachstum und eine nachhaltige Entwicklung. Die Strategie der internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz 2021-2024 möchte die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor ausbauen und ihr Potenzial zur Förderung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in den Ländern des Südens und des Ostens ausschöpfen.

Die Strategie der internationalen Zusammenarbeit (IZA) 2021-2024 sieht viel Potenzial in der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor. Er schafft weltweit rund 90% aller Arbeitsplätze und spielt bei der Umsetzung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung eine Schlüsselrolle. Die Innovationskraft, Expertise sowie die Ressourcen des Privatsektors sind zur Umsetzung der IZA notwendig. Die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) diversifiziert und verstärkt die Partnerschaften mit dem Privatsektor, indem sie beispielsweise mit Sozialunternehmen, Impactinvestoren oder Förderstiftungen zusammenarbeitet.

Erste Erfolge

Die DEZA hat schon früher Partnerschaften mit dem Privatsektor in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit geschlossen. Nach ersten Erfolgen und zahlreichen Erfahrungen entwickelt die Schweiz diese Partnerschaften weiter und verfeinert die Kriterien für die Zusammenarbeit. Zusammen mit privaten Akteuren entwickelt sie innovative Lösungen, um Unternehmen Zugang zu Finanzierung und Investoren neue Investitionsmöglichkeiten zu eröffnen. Die Schweiz setzt sich weiterhin dafür ein, dass ihre privaten Partner die Menschenrechte sowie ökologische, soziale und Gouvernanz-Standards einhalten.

Gezielte Zusammenarbeit

Die IZA arbeitet bereits gezielt mit dem Privatsektor zusammen, einschliesslich des Finanzsektors, um gemeinsam zur Erreichung der Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Developments Goals, SDGs) beizutragen. Auch die humanitäre Hilfe nutzt das Know-how der Privatwirtschaft, indem sie dort Expertinnen und Experten für das SKH rekrutiert oder auf deren Logistik- und Materialbeschaffungskanäle zurückgreift.