Swiss cooperation with Eastern Europe – supporting the transition to democracy and a social market economy

Swiss cooperation with Eastern Europe


Swiss cooperation with Eastern Europe supports the Western Balkans and countries of the former Soviet Union in their transition to a social market economy and democracy. Through its enlargement contribution, Switzerland helps reduce the economic and social disparities within the enlarged European Union

Transition assistance

Transition assistance promotes the rule of law, democracy, and the social market economy, while strengthening civil society. As a result, Switzerland helps to restore stability in these states and improves the opportunities available to the people living there. Switzerland concentrates its transition assistance efforts in the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Serbia) and states of the former USSR (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan).

Enlargement contribution

With an enlargement contribution totalling CHF 1.302 billion, Switzerland supports projects in the countries that have joined the EU since 2004:  Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Hungary. Switzerland is thereby helping to reduce economic and social disparities in the enlarged European Union and strengthening its relations with countries across the European region.

Swiss enlargement contribution


Cooperation with Eastern Europe is an integral component of Swiss foreign policy and foreign economic policy and is based on the Federal Act on Cooperation with Eastern Europe.


In order to make most effective use of the funds available for cooperation with Eastern Europe, Switzerland focuses on certain topics.