Private sector engagement

The private sector is the world's biggest employer and plays an important role in economic growth and sustainable development. Switzerland's International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 aims to expand cooperation with the private sector and exploit its potential to promote sustainable development in the countries of the South and East.

The International Cooperation Strategy 2021–24 sees great potential in private sector engagement. The private sector creates around 90% of all jobs worldwide and has a key role to play in implementing sustainable development. The innovative power, expertise and resources of private-sector companies are necessary for the implementation of international cooperation activities. The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) is diversifying and strengthening partnerships with the private sector, for example by working with social enterprises, impact investors and grant-making foundations.

Initial successes

The SDC has already established partnerships with the private sector through its development cooperation in the past. After initial successes and numerous different experiences, Switzerland is developing these partnerships further and refining its criteria for cooperation. Together with private actors, it is developing innovative solutions to give companies access to financing and provide investors with new investment opportunities. Switzerland remains committed to ensuring that its private sector partners respect human rights and meet ecological, social and governance standards.

Targeted engagement

Switzerland's international cooperation already works in a targeted manner with the private sector, including the financial sector, in order to jointly contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals. Swiss Humanitarian Aid also makes use of private sector know-how, recruiting experts from the private sector for the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit and using the sector's logistics and material procurement channels.

Coopération avec le secteur privé

Le secteur privé est le premier employeur dans le monde et joue un rôle important dans la croissance économique et le développement durable. La stratégie de coopération internationale de la Suisse 2021-2024 vise à développer la coopération avec le secteur privé et à exploiter son potentiel pour promouvoir le développement durable dans les pays du Sud et de l’Est.

La stratégie de coopération internationale 2021-2024 (CI) accorde une grande importance au potentiel de la collaboration avec le secteur privé. Ce secteur génère 90% des emplois dans le monde et joue un rôle-clé dans la réalisation du développement durable. La force d’innovation, l’expertise et les ressources du secteur privé sont incontournables pour mettre en œuvre la CI. La Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC) diversifie et renforce les partenariats avec le secteur privé, notamment en travaillant avec des entreprises sociales, des investisseurs à impact social et des fondations donatrices.

Premiers succès

Par le passé, la DDC a déjà établi des partenariats avec le secteur privé dans le cadre de la coopération au développement. Forte de ses premiers succès et d’une riche expérience, la Suisse développe ces partenariats et affine les critères de coopération. En collaboration avec des acteurs privés, elle met au point des solutions innovantes pour permettre aux entreprises d’accéder à des financements et ouvrir de nouveaux débouchés aux investisseurs. La Suisse poursuit son engagement afin que ses partenaires privés agissent dans le respect des droits de l’homme ainsi que des normes environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance.

Une coopération ciblée

La coopération internationale travaille de manière ciblée avec le secteur privé, y compris le secteur financier, afin de contribuer conjointement à la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable. L’aide humanitaire tire elle aussi parti du savoir-faire de l’économie privée en y recrutant des experts pour le Corps suisse d’aide humanitaire (CSA) ou en utilisant ses canaux logistiques et d’approvisionnement en matériel.