Start of page

Bilateral relations Switzerland–Spain

Switzerland and the Kingdom of Spain continue to maintain good relations which are characterised by close political, economic and cultural exchanges between the two countries.

Key aspects of diplomatic relations

Switzerland and Spain maintain robust relations that often involve contacts at the highest political level. The two countries collaborate closely at the political, economic, scientific and cultural levels, as well as in development cooperation and consular services.

Switzerland and Spain also pursue common goals at the multilateral level, primarily within the framework of the UN and other international organisations. International Geneva and the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) in Basel are also important platforms in this regard.

Switzerland also supported Spain's initiative to establish the International Commission against the Death Penalty (ICDP), which is comprised of a number of high-ranking members from different countries. The commission is an example of the excellent cooperation between Switzerland and Spain at the multilateral level.

Treaty database

International Commission against the Death Penalty (ICDP)

Economic cooperation

Switzerland and Spain have traditionally maintained good and close economic ties. Their volume of trade amounted to approximately CHF 20.7 billion in 2021. The principal categories of goods traded are pharmaceutical and chemical products, precious metals and jewellery, agricultural products, machinery and vehicles.

Switzerland's total direct investment in Spain at the end of 2020 was CHF18.9 billion, making it the country's eighth-largest foreign investor. 

Trade promotion, Switzerland Global Enterprise

Information on countries, State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO)

Cooperation in education, research and innovation

At the federal level, bilateral and institutional scientific cooperation with Spain takes place via European or international research programmes. Spain was Switzerland's fifth partner in the Horizon 2020 programme.

The two countries have cooperated in a number of promising fields, including:

  • astrophysics
  • artificial intelligence, quantum technology and robotics
  • energy – particularly energy storage and efficiency
  • renewable resources (wind, sun and biomass energy)
  • biotechnology – particularly 'red' (healthcare, genetics) and 'green' (agriculture)
  • information and communications technology
  • nanotechnology
  • oncology
  • architecture and civil engineering
  • pharmacy

In 2021 Spain was once again the third most popular country for Swiss students on academic exchanges abroad.

Switzerland and Spain are also working to promote potential collaborations in vocational education and training.

Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships for Foreign Scholars and Artists, SERI

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation – SERI

Swissnex

Cultural exchanges

Switzerland and Spain maintain close cultural relations across a range of fields. The embassy and consulate general in Barcelona promote cultural cooperation, regularly help to organise cultural events and also support the honorary consulates' work in this area.

Swiss nationals in Spain

At the end of 2021, there were 25,122 Swiss nationals living in Spain.

Statistics on the Swiss abroad, FDFA

History of bilateral relations

Relations between the two countries have a long tradition. As long ago as the late Middle Ages, Spain – then a great power – maintained a legation in Switzerland, while Swiss trading houses had a presence in Spain.

In 1847, Switzerland opened a trade consulate for Spain in Barcelona, which has been Switzerland's consulate general since 1958. This was followed in 1861 by an honorary consulate, which was upgraded to a legation in 1910 and an embassy in 1957.

Switzerland and Spain signed their first trade agreement in 1869. During the First World War, Spain was Switzerland’s principal food supplier. Relations became closer with Spain's transition to a parliamentary monarchy after the death of Franco in 1975, and with its accession to the EU in 1986.

From then on, the two countries engaged in regular high-level political contacts. In 2015 President of the Confederation Simonetta Sommaruga paid a visit to King Felipe VI and Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy. The current prime minister, Pedro Sánchez, has met with presidents Alain Berset (Brussels, 2018), Ueli Maurer (WEF, 2019) Simonetta Sommaruga (WEF, 2020) and Ignazio Cassis (WEF, 2022).

Spain, Historical Dictionary of Switzerland (de, fr, it)

Last update 14.07.2022

Contact

+41 800 24-7-365 / +41 58 465 33 33

The Helpline FDFA deals as central contact point with matters relating to consular services.

365 days a year – around the clock 

helpline@eda.admin.ch

Skype: helpline-eda

Fax +41 58 462 78 66

vCard Helpline FDFA (VCF, 5.6 kB)

Twitter

Phone free of charge from abroad with Skype: helpline-eda

You will receive an “error” message if the Skype application is not installed on your computer or smartphone. If such a message appears, please proceed to install it right off, simply by clicking on the following link: Download Skype

Relations bilatérales Suisse–Espagne

La Suisse et le Royaume d’Espagne entretiennent de bonnes relations, qui reposent sur une longue tradition et sont marquées par des échanges économiques, politiques et culturels soutenus ainsi que des liens humains étroits..

Points clés des relations diplomatiques

Liées par des relations étroites et excellentes, la Suisse et l’Espagne entretiennent des contacts politiques réguliers au plus haut niveau. Les deux pays collaborent étroitement dans les domaines politique, économique, scientifique et culturel, ainsi qu’en matière de coopération au développement et de prestations consulaires.

Ils poursuivent par ailleurs des objectifs communs sur le plan multilatéral, notamment dans le cadre des Nations Unies (ONU) et d’autres organisations internationales. À cet égard, la Genève internationale et la Banque des règlements internationaux (BRI), sise à Bâle, constituent d’importantes plateformes.

La Suisse a soutenu l’initiative de l’Espagne visant à instaurer une Commission internationale indépendante contre la peine de mort (CIPM). Composée de personnalités de haut rang issues de différents pays, cette commission illustre la coopération fructueuse entre la Suisse et l’Espagne au niveau multilatéral.

Banque de données des traités internationaux

International Commission against the Death Penalty (ICDP)

Coopération économique

Bonnes et intenses, les relations économiques entre les deux pays reposent sur une longue tradition. En 2021, les échanges commerciaux ont atteint environ 20,7 milliards de francs. Les principales catégories de biens échangés étaient les produits pharmaceutiques et chimiques, les métaux précieux et les bijoux, les produits agricoles, les machines et les véhicules.

Fin 2020, les investissements directs suisses en Espagne s’élevaient à 18,9 milliards de francs, faisant de la Suisse le 8e investisseur étranger en Espagne. 

Promotion du commerce, Switzerland Global Enterprise SGE

Informations par pays, Secrétariat d’État à l’économie SECO

Coopération en matière d’éducation, de recherche et d’innovation

Dans le domaine scientifique, la coopération bilatérale et institutionnelle entre la Suisse et l’Espagne passe par des programmes de recherche européens ou internationaux. Dans le cadre du programme Horizon 2020, l’Espagne était le cinquième partenaire de la Suisse.

Les domaines de coopération prometteurs sont notamment les suivants:

  • astrophysique
  • intelligence artificielle, technologie quantique et robotique
  • énergie (stockage et efficacité énergétique en particulier)
  • ressources renouvelables (énergie éolienne, solaire et géothermique)
  • biotechnologies, notamment rouges (santé, génétique) et vertes (agriculture)
  • technologies de l’information et de la communication
  • nanotechnologie
  • oncologie
  • architecture et développement urbain
  • pharmacologie

En 2021, l’Espagne était de nouveau la troisième destination des étudiants suisses partis en échange à l’étranger.

La Suisse et l’Espagne cherchent également à développer leur potentiel de collaboration dans le domaine de la formation professionnelle.

Bourses d’excellence de la Confédération suisse destinées aux chercheurs et artistes étrangers, SEFRI

Secrétariat d’État à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation SEFRI

Swissnex

Échanges culturels

Dans le domaine culturel, la Suisse et l’Espagne entretiennent des liens étroits et diversifiés. L’ambassade et le consulat général à Barcelone favorisent la coopération culturelle, participent régulièrement à l’organisation d’événements culturels et soutiennent les efforts déployés en ce sens par les consulats honoraires.

Les Suissesses et les Suisses en Espagne

Fin 2021, 25’122 Suisses et Suissesses vivaient en Espagne.

Statistique des Suisses de l’étranger, DFAE

Historique des relations bilatérales

Les relations entre la Suisse et l’Espagne reposent sur une longue tradition. Dès la fin du Moyen Âge, l’Espagne disposait d’une légation en Suisse et des maisons de commerce suisses étaient présentes en Espagne.

En 1847, la Suisse a ouvert à Barcelone un consulat commercial pour l’Espagne, qui a été transformé en consulat général en 1958. Le consulat honoraire établi à Madrid en 1861 a été transformé en légation en 1910, puis élevé au rang d’ambassade en 1957.

Le premier accord de libre-échange entre la Suisse et l’Espagne a été signé en 1869. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, l’Espagne était le premier fournisseur de denrées alimentaires de la Suisse. Les relations se sont intensifiées après la mort de Franco en 1975, avec l’avènement d’une monarchie parlementaire et l’adhésion du pays à la CEE en 1986.

Les deux pays entretiennent des contacts politiques réguliers à haut niveau. En 2015, à l’occasion d’une visite en Espagne, la présidente de la Confédération Simonetta Sommaruga a rencontré le roi Felipe VI et le chef du gouvernement espagnol Mariano Rajoy. L’actuel premier ministre Pedro Sánchez a rencontré plusieurs présidents de la Confédération: Alain Berset à Bruxelles en 2018, Ueli Maurer à Davos (WEF) en 2019, Simonetta Sommaruga à Davos (WEF) en 2020 et Ignazio Cassis à Davos (WEF) en 2022.

Espagne, Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse

Dernière mise à jour 14.07.2022

Contact

+41 800 24-7-365 / +41 58 465 33 33

365 jours par année – 24h/24

La Helpline DFAE fait office de guichet unique pour toute question ayant trait aux services consulaires.

Fax +41 58 462 78 66

helpline@eda.admin.ch

vCard Helpline DFAE (VCF, 5.7 kB)

Twitter

Appel gratuit depuis l’étranger avec Skype

Un message d'erreur apparaîtra si l'application Skype n'est pas installée sur votre ordinateur ou smartphone. Dans ce cas, veuillez tout d’abord procéder à son installation en cliquant sur le lien suivant: 
télécharger Skype

Skype: helpline-eda

Début de la page