Relations between Switzerland and the rest of Europe have been developing steadily. The highlights of this development process are listed here in chronological order.





Switzerland and the EU initialled an agreement regarding the introduction of the global standard for the automatic exchange of information in tax matters. Switzerland and the 28 EU member states intend to collect account data from 2017 and exchange it from 2018 once the necessary legal basis has been created.


The Federal Council wants to negotiate Switzerland’s participation in the Prüm cooperation. This cooperation simplifies the information exchange for the purposes of combating cross-border crime between the EU states. The Federal Council therefore adopted a mandate to negotiate with the EU.



The Federal Council adopted an amendment of the regulation on the implementation of the free movement of persons, which entered into force on 1 April 2015. EU and EFTA Citizens who search for a job in Switzerland will only get a residence permit if they have the financial means to meet their subsistence.



The Federal Council took various decisions on the implementation of the new constitutional provisions of the initiative against mass immigration. It launched the consultation on the draft of the new legislation on foreign nationals and adopted additional measures to make better use of the potential workforce within Switzerland. It also made a final decision on the negotiating mandate with the EU on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons.



The president of the Swiss Confederation Simonetta Sommaruga met the president of the EU Commission Jean-Claude Juncker for talks in Brussels. The meeting focused on the relations between Switzerland and the EU. Furthermore, Sommaruga met the president of the European Council Donald Tusk and the president of the European Parliament Martin Schulz for discussions.




Latvia has taken over the presidency of the Council of the EU from Italy for a six-month term.



Lithuania joins the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). There are now 19 EMU Member States.