Diplomatic Affairs

The Diplomatic Affairs team promotes the Swiss presence in Kenya and the four other countries of cross-accreditation, which are Burundi, Rwanda, Somalia and Uganda. We strengthen bilateral relations and the mutual understanding between our countries. 

The particular tasks of the Diplomatic Affairs team of the Embassy are: 

Politics and bilateral relations: We develop and maintain relations between Switzerland and our host countries. We follow domestic and foreign policies and areas of common interests. In this context, we prepare and assist negotiations and official visits.

For more information see bilateral relations Switzerland-Kenya.   

Economy and business: We promote and defend Swiss economic interests and support Swiss businesses in the host countries (export promotion and investment protection), together with the Swiss Business Hub in Pretoria. We monitor the economic and political situation in the host countries and report on developments that are of interest to Switzerland.  

Communication and culture: We promote the image of Switzerland in the host countries, for example with cultural projects in various areas. We serve as an interface between the Swiss government and the national and international media in the host countries. We support the work of journalists working for Swiss media. For current affairs and speeches see News

Science and education: We encourage the exchange of knowledge between scientific institutions and universities. We support Swiss students in the host countries and try to encourage qualified students from the host countries to study in Switzerland with the help of a scholarship programme. 

Human rights and peace: We monitor the human rights situation in the host countries and explore the potential for cooperation with the authorities and local non-governmental organizations in order to improve the human rights situation. 

International organisations: We represent Switzerland’s interests in the multilateral institutions based in Nairobi, for example in the Committee of Permanent Representatives of the United Nations Environment Programme.