Food security, health, migration and protection, good governance as well as state and peace building including conflict transformation are at the centre of the overall Swiss Strategy for the Greater Horn of Africa 2013–2016, translated into four specific Cooperation Strategies. They build on Switzerland’s past achievements in the region and underscore SDC’s commitment to working in fragile contexts.

The Greater Horn of Africa, as defined by the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), comprises eight countries (Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Uganda).

Such a complex and big region (around 200 million people on 4.5 million km2, corresponding roughly to Western Europe) can be treated as a single entity only through an overall political approach. To deliver its expertise and maximize its impact with an operational concentration, the Greater Horn of Africa is therefore treated by Switzerland through four specific Cooperation Strategies under the responsibility of several operational structures:

  • Horn of Africa
    Covering with a “whole-of-government” approach: Ethiopia, Kenya and Somalia. Djibouti is addressed through the partnership that Switzerland has established in 2014 with IGAD. Eritrea will be addressed only if humanitarian needs arise and the conditions of engagement are given, which is currently not the case.
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan

To nevertheless ensure a political coherence in the broader region and towards IGAD, a coordination mechanism on the Greater Horn of Africa has been established between all Swiss actors.

Regional Cooperation Strategy 2013-2016 Horn of Africa

Switzerland’s Regional Cooperation Strategy 2013–2016 for the Horn of Africa is a development framework that brings together the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), the Human Security Division of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs, and the Secretariat for Migration. The total budget is 140.05 million Swiss francs (94 % from SDC). The strategy covers Somalia, Southern Ethiopia and North/Northeastern Kenya. In case of humanitarian emergency and provided conditions of engagement are met, the strategy also includes Eritrea and Djibouti.  Switzerland’s regional strategy focuses on four sectors: food security, governance, health and migration/protection.

Why: hypothesis of change for the region

Switzerland’s interests and overall hypothesis of change is that people in the region gradually gain confidence in, and benefit from, their State institutions and services. Despite temporary setbacks they are increasingly able to share and manage resources peacefully and take advantage of economic opportunities. Switzerland promotes the transformation of conflicts and regional connectivity by addressing the long-term drivers of conflict and poverty which lie at the core of the fragility in the Horn of Africa, particularly the Somali conflict dynamics and conflicts concerning power and resource sharing.

SDC Cooperation Strategy Horm of Africa 2013-2016 (PDF, Number of pages 24, 699.0 kB, English)

Cooperation Strategy Horm of Africa 2013-2016 at a Glance: Synopsis (PDF, Page 1, 297.3 kB, English)