Thematic sanctions: Federal Council to pursue current practice

Press releases, 30.08.2023

On 30 August 2023, the Federal Council decided not to adopt the sanctions imposed by the EU as part of its human rights sanctions regime in connection with the Navalny and Kara-Murza cases. In the future, the Federal Council will continue to decide on a case-by-case basis wether to adopt measures from the EU’s thematic sanctions regimes.

On 5 June 2023, the EU added nine persons to its list of individuals and entities subject to human rights sanctions. These are persons involved in the detention and politically motivated sentencing of pro-democracy activist Vladimir Kara-Murza. On 20 July 2023, a further 12 individuals and five entities were added to this list for their responsibility in the politically motivated rulings against Vladimir Kara-Murza and Putin critic Alexei Navalny.

Following a weighing of interests on the basis of various foreign policy and legal criteria, the Federal Council has decided not to join the EU in imposing these sanctions.  

Address for enquiries:

EAER Communication
058 462 20 07


The Federal Council
Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research