Federal Administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

Priorities of the presidency
Download

You are here:

Didier Burkhalter

Head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter (© Federal Chancellery)

 (165 x 190)

Didier Burkhalter, born on 17 April 1960, grew up in the village of Auvernier on the shores of Lake Neuchâtel. He obtained a degree in economics from the University of Neuchâtel. Before his move into politics, he held a number of posts in the academic world and the private sector. Mr. Burkhalter is married and father of three children.

In 1985 Mr. Burkhalter joined the Radical Democratic Party (now the Liberal Democratic Party, or FDP). He was secretary of the Neuchâtel branch of the party, before becoming the full-time secretary for French-speaking Switzerland within the FDP Switzerland. In 1991 he was elected to the executive (town council) of Neuchâtel, which he chaired for three legislative periods (1994/1995, 1998/1999, 2001/2002). He remained a member of the council until 2005.

During his political career, Mr. Burkhalter has served as a member of parliament at all three levels of the Swiss political system: communal (parliament of Hauterive, Neuchâtel), cantonal (Neuchâtel parliament) and federal (National Council and Council of States).

In 2003 Mr. Burkhalter was elected to the National Council, and to the Council of States in 2007. During this time he has served on a number of parliamentary committees and was also a member of the Swiss delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

Didier Burkhalter was elected to the Federal Council on 16 September 2009 and appointed as the head of the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA), a post he held until 31 December 2011. Mr. Burkhalter has been head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs since 1 January 2012.

On 4 December 2013, the Federal Assembly elected Didier Burkhalter as President of the Swiss Confederation for 2014.

Administration fédérale admin.ch
Département fédéral des affaires étrangères

Navigation

Navigation principale

Navigation secondaire

Informations complémentaires

Recherche rapide

Priorités de la présidence de la Confédération
Download

Vous êtes ici :

Didier Burkhalter

Chef du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères

Conseiller fédéral Didier Burkhalter (© Chancellerie fédérale)

 (165 x 190)

Didier Burkhalter, né le 17.4.1960, a passé son enfance à Auvernier, sur les rives du Lac de Neuchâtel. Licencié en sciences économiques de l'Université de Neuchâtel, il a exercé différentes fonctions académiques et dans l'économie privée. Il est marié et père de trois enfants.

Depuis 1985, il est membre du Parti radical-démocratique (PRD), aujourd'hui Parti libéral-radical (PLR). Il a occupé le poste de secrétaire du PRD du canton de Neuchâtel et, à plein temps, celui de secrétaire romand au sein du secrétariat général du PRD. En 1991, il a été élu au Conseil communal (exécutif) de la ville de Neuchâtel, dont il a été membre jusqu’en 2005 et qu’il a présidé à trois reprises (1994/1995, 1998/1999, 2001/2002). 

Au cours de sa carrière politique, Didier Burkhalter a été parlementaire communal (à Hauterive, NE), cantonal (Grand Conseil neuchâtelois) et fédéral.

En 2003, il a été élu au Conseil national, puis au Conseil des Etats en 2007. Durant ses mandats au Parlement fédéral, il a siégé dans plusieurs commissions. Didier Burkhalter a également été membre de la délégation suisse auprès de l’Assemblée parlementaire de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE).

Le 16 septembre 2009, l’Assemblée fédérale a élu Didier Burkhalter au Conseil fédéral. En 2010 et 2011, il dirigeait le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI). Le 1er janvier 2012, il a pris la tête du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères.

Le 4 décembre 2013, l’Assemblée fédérale a élu Didier Burkhalter président de la Confédération pour 2014.