Federal Administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

Contact

FDFA
Council of Europe and OSCE
Bundesgasse 32
3003 Bern
Phone +41 (0)58 462 35 48
Fax +41 (0)58 465 06 80
 pd-aezeo@eda.admin.ch

You are here:

Bilateral relations between Switzerland and Italy

Switzerland and Italy share close economic, political and cultural ties, as well as a common language. Visits between the two countries take place frequently.

Switzerland's relations with Italy – its third most important trading partner – have traditionally been very good.

Key aspects of diplomatic relations

Bilateral relations between Switzerland and Italy are based on a complex set of agreements. Regular meetings are held between representatives of the governments and administrative authorities of the two countries, in addition to which there is also institutionalised contact between the parliaments. The state visit of the Italian president, Giorgio Napolitano, to Switzerland was one such notable event. During his stay from 20 to 21 May 2014, President Napolitano was also accompanied by the Italian foreign minister, Federica Mogherini.

http://www.dfae.admin.ch/eda/de/home/dfa/head/hoeven/ita.html State visit by Italian President Giorgio Napolitano
https://www.news.admin.ch/message/index.html?lang=en&msg-id=52940 Press release, 13 May 2014

Since May 2012, Switzerland and Italy have been in dialogue on taxation and the two countries maintain close cooperation in the transport and energy sectors as well as on infrastructure development. In addition to economic dialogue, Switzerland and Italy also conduct a dialogue on agricultural matters, which was discussed for the second time in February 2013. These ties provide a welcome opportunity for Switzerland to discuss bilateral affairs, European matters and international issues with Italy.

Switzerland and Italy exchange information in various bodies such as the working communities Regio Insubrica, Regio Sempione and Espace Mont-Blanc, which maintain cross-border cooperation. The Italian-Swiss dialogue serves to strengthen awareness of how both countries can benefit from one another on many different levels.

http://www.regioinsubrica.org/ Regio Insubrica (Italian only)

Switzerland will contribute a pavilion to Expo Milano 2015 under the motto "Feeding the Planet, Energy for Life". In the run-up to the exhibition, Switzerland is organising events in various Italian cities to promote awareness among the Italian public of Switzerland's innovative strengths and cultural and linguistic diversity.

http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/topics/prskom/siteet/milan.html Swiss Pavilion Expo Milano 2015
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/topics/prskom/siteet/milan.html Expo Milano 2015

Around 500,000 Italian nationals live in Switzerland, constituting the largest expatriate community in the country. They also represent an important social factor in relations between the two countries, including the fact that they give the Italian language in Switzerland greater weight.

Economic cooperation

Italy is – after Germany and the United States – Switzerland's third biggest trading partner, and posts a trade surplus with Switzerland year after year (CHF 3.8 billion CHF in 2012). More than 77,000 jobs were created through Swiss direct investment in Italy (CHF 25.7 billion) in 2012. In the same year, Italian businesses invested CHF four billion in Switzerland, representing some 13,000 jobs. Cooperation is especially close in the Swiss-Italian border region, where over 60,000 Italians cross into Switzerland every day to work.

Cooperation in the field of education

Four Swiss schools are located in Milan, Bergamo, Rome and Catania. Swiss institutes of higher education also maintain good and long-standing contacts with partner institutions in Italy. The creation of the USI Università della Svizzera italiana in Lugano and Mendrisio, and the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland (SUPSI), have brought a new dimension to academic and cultural exchange between Switzerland and Italy.

http://www.usi.ch/en/index.htm USI Università della Svizzera italiana
http://www.supsi.ch/home/supsi.html SUPSI University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland (Italian)

Moreover, academic exchange has benefited from the agreement on the mutual recognition of the equivalence of university qualifications which was concluded in 2000. The Academic Commission – whose mandate is to encourage cooperation, promote dual doctoral programmes and improve the recognition of academic qualifications – met for the first time in 2010. Intensive cooperation among researchers in both countries as part of the European research programmes also plays a central role. Scholars and artists from Italy can apply for Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships to the State Secretariat for Education Research and Innovation (SERI).

http://www.sbfi.admin.ch/themen/01366/01380/01828/index.html?lang=en SERI Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships for foreign scholars and artists

Swiss nationals in Italy

In 2013, there were 50,716 Swiss citizens living in Italy.

Cultural exchanges

Intensive relations between Switzerland and Italy also exist in the cultural sphere. Since 1947, Switzerland has maintained the “Istituto Svizzero di Roma” which is dedicated to cultural and scientific exchanges and has a regional office in Milan, the "Centro culturale svizzero". The FDFA is participating in joint projects throughout the world as part of the "Settimana della lingua italiana nel mondo" initiated by the Italian foreign ministry.

http://www.esteri.it/MAE/IT/Politica_Estera/Cultura/PromozioneLinguaItaliana/settimanalinguaitaliana/ Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs: La settimana della lingua italiana nel mondo (Italian only)

History of bilateral relations

Switzerland and Italy have enjoyed diplomatic relations since the founding of the Italian state in 1861. Celebrations to commemorate the 150th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Switzerland and Italy were held in 2011 at the same time as the 150th anniversary of Italy's unification.

In 1957, the Federal Council upgraded the Swiss legation in Rome, which had been maintained since 1871, to an embassy. 

http://www.hls-dhs-dss.ch/textes/f/F3359.php Historical Lexicon of Switzerland: Italy (fr)

Administration fédérale admin.ch
Département fédéral des affaires étrangères

Navigation

Navigation principale

Navigation secondaire

Informations complémentaires

Recherche rapide

Contact

DFAE
Conseil de l'Europe et OSCE
Bundesgasse 32
3003 Bern
Phone +41 (0)58 462 36 12
Fax +41 (0)58 465 06 80
 pd-aezeo@eda.admin.ch

Vous êtes ici :

Relations bilatérales Suisse–Italie

La Suisse et l’Italie entretiennent de longue date de bonnes relations caractérisées par des liens économiques, politiques, humains et culturels étroits, une langue commune et des contacts réguliers à tous les niveaux.

Les relations entre la Suisse et l’Italie, son troisième partenaire commercial, sont traditionnellement bonnes.

Points-clés des relations bilatérales

Les relations bilatérales entre la Suisse et l’Italie sont régies par un ensemble d’accords complexe. Des rencontres ont régulièrement lieu entre des représentants des gouvernements et des administrations des deux pays. Il existe en outre des contacts institutionnalisés entre les deux parlements. Les 20 et 21 mai 2014, le président de la République italienne Giorgio Napoletano, s’est rendu en Suisse pour une visite d’Etat, en compagnie de la ministre des affaires étrangères Federica Mogherini.

http://www.dfae.admin.ch/eda/fr/home/dfa/head/hoeven/ita.html Visite d’Etat du président de la République Giorgio Napolitano
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/home/recent/media/single.html?id=52940 Communioqué de presse, 13.5.2014

Depuis mai 2012, la Suisse et l’Italie mènent un dialogue en matière fiscale. Par ailleurs, les deux pays entretiennent une coopération étroite en ce qui concerne la politique des transports et de l’énergie et le développement des infrastructures. Outre un dialogue économique, la Suisse et l’Italie mènent un dialogue agricole, dont la deuxième session s’est tenue en février 2013. Ces contacts offrent à la Suisse une excellente occasion d’aborder avec l’Italie des questions bilatérales, des questions relevant de la politique européenne et des sujets de portée internationale.

La Suisse et l’Italie disposent de différentes enceintes de dialogue. Ainsi, les communautés de travail Regio Insubrica, Regio Sempione et Espace Mont-Blanc témoignent de la vivacité de la coopération internationale. Grâce au dialogue italo-suisse, les deux pays peuvent prendre pleinement conscience de ce qu’ils représentent l’un pour l’autre dans de nombreux domaines.

http://www.regioinsubrica.org/ Regio Insubrica (it)

La Suisse sera représentée à l’Expo 2015 à Milan avec un pavillon conçu sur le thème «Nourrir la planète, énergie pour la vie ». En prélude à cet événement, elle organisera une série de manifestations dans différentes villes italiennes, dans le but de montrer au public italien la force d’innovation et la diversité culturelle et linguistique helvétiques.

http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/home/topics/prskom/siteet/milan.html.html Pavillon suisse Expo Milan 2015
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/fr/home/topics/prskom/siteet/milan.html.html Exposition universelle 2015 à Milan

Près d’un demi-million de ressortissants italiens vivent en Suisse, formant la première communauté étrangère du pays. Les Italiens en Suisse représentent un facteur social et sociétal important dans les relations entre les deux pays. Grâce à leur présence, la langue italienne a plus de poids en Suisse.

Coopération économique

Après l’Allemagne et les Etats-Unis, l’Italie est le troisième partenaire commercial de la Suisse. Nos voisins enregistrent régulièrement un excédent commercial (2012: 3,8 milliards CHF). En 2012, plus de 77’000 emplois ont été créés en Italie grâce à des investissements directs suisses d’un montant de 25,7 milliards CHF. La même année, des entreprises italiennes ont investi quatre milliards de francs en Suisse. Les investissements directs en provenance de la péninsule ont généré 13’000 emplois. Les échanges sont particulièrement intenses le long de la frontière, que 60’000 frontaliers traversent chaque jour pour aller travailler.

Coopération dans le domaine de l’éducation et de la formation

La Suisse a ouvert en Italie de quatre écoles basées à Milan, Bergame, Rome et Catane. En outre, les hautes écoles helvétiques entretiennent de longue date des contacts fructueux et réguliers avec des établissements partenaires de la péninsule. La création de l’Université de la Suisse italienne (USI) à Lugano et Mendrisio et de la Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse italienne (Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera italiana, SUPSI) a donné une dimension nouvelle aux relations scientifiques entre la Suisse et l’Italie.

http://www.usi.ch/index.htm L’Université de la Suisse italienne (it, en)
http://www.supsi.ch/home.html La Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse italienne (it, en)

L’accord sur la reconnaissance réciproque des équivalences dans l’enseignement supérieur signé en 2000 favorise les échanges académiques. La commission scientifique qui encourage la reconnaissance des diplômes et les doubles doctorats (cotutelles), ainsi que la collaboration entre les chercheurs, notamment dans le cadre des programmes de recherche européens, a tenu sa première réunion en 2010. Les chercheurs et les artistes italiens peuvent déposer leur dossier de candidature auprès du Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI) pour obtenir une bourse d’excellence de la Confédération suisse.

http://www.sbfi.admin.ch/themen/01366/01380/01828/index.html?lang=fr SEFRI: Bourses d’excellence de la Confédération suisse destinées aux chercheurs et artistes

Les Suissesses et les Suisses en Italie

En 2013, 50’716 ressortissants suisses vivaient en Italie.

Echanges culturels

Les deux pays entretiennent également d’étroites relations sur le plan culturel. L’Instituto Svizzero di Roma, fondé à Rome en 1947 par la Confédération et dédié aux échanges culturels et scientifiques, dispose d’une antenne à Milan, le Centro culturale svizzero. Le DFAE s'associe, à travers des projets communs déployés aux quatre coins du monde, à la Settimana della lingua italiana nel mondo, lancée par le ministère italien des Affaires étrangères.

http://www.esteri.it/MAE/IT/Politica_Estera/Cultura/PromozioneLinguaItaliana/settimanalinguaitaliana/ Ministère italien des affaires étrangères: la Settimana della lingua italiana nel mondo (it)

Historique des relations bilatérales

La Suisse et l’Italie entretiennent des relations diplomatiques depuis la fondation de l’Etat italien en 1861. En 2011, l’année du 150e anniversaire de l’unité italienne a également été celle des 150 ans des relations diplomatiques entre les deux pays.

Le Conseil fédéral a décidé en 1957 de transformer en ambassade la légation suisse à Rome, que la Suisse avait inaugurée en 1871. 

http://www.hls-dhs-dss.ch/textes/f/F3359.php Dictionnaire historique de la Suisse: «Italie»