Federal Administration admin.ch
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Navigation

Main navigation

Sub navigation

Further information

Quick search

New York ministerial meeting, 27.9.2013
Abu Dhabi ministerial meeting, 14.12.2012
Istanbul ministerial meeting, 07.06.2012
Foundation of the Forum, 22.09.2011

You are here:

Global Counterterrorism Forum

The Global Counterterrorism Forum strengthens and supplements the already existing international activities relating to counterterrorism. Switzerland is, also within this framework, promoting the respect for human rights while countering terrorism and advocating for the Forum to become closely affiliated to the UN.  

The Global Counterterrorism Forum (GCTF) was established in New York in September 2011. It supersedes political blocs and comprises 29 member states from all continents, plus the EU. Its main goals are to identify national and international needs in terms of combating terrorism, to develop suitable solutions and to coordinate and facilitate capacity-building activities in partnership with interested countries.

In addition to a coordination committee under the co-leadership of the USA and Turkey, the Forum comprises five working groups focusing on the following spheres of activity:

Thematic:

  • Criminal justice and the rule of law in counterterrorism
  • Prevention of violent extremism

Geographic:

  • Sahel region
  • Horn of Africa
  • South-East Asia

Swiss priorities 
Participation in the Global Counterterrorism Forum offers Switzerland a major platform for safeguarding its interests and values in the area of counterterrorism. Within the framework of the Forum, Switzerland also promotes the respect of human rights and campaigns for the Forum to become closely affiliated to the activities of the UN

This means that the Forum has to pay equal attention to all four pillars of the UN's global strategy for combating terrorism: 

  • Fighting root causes
  • Prevention and repression
  • Building up state capacities
  • Protection of human rights and rule of law

With a view to optimising the coordination of counterterrorism activities between the Forum, the UN and other international and regional organisations, Switzerland organised an international conference in Interlaken on 23 and 24 February 2012. At this meeting, the Members of the GCTF endorsed the central role of the UN in the global fight against terrorism.

Switzerland set out its priorities for combating terrorism at the 4th ministerial meeting of the GCTF in New York. Firstly, Switzerland is supporting an initiative to improve the biennial review of the UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy in order to strengthen the comprehensive approach to counterterrorism. This further involves projects concerning respect for human rights in criminal proceedings concerning terrorism cases and measures to prevent the financing of terrorism. Secondly, Switzerland is supporting a new initiative to establish a global fund to strengthen local efforts to prevent violent extremism. Thirdly, Switzerland announced its priorities for its OSCE chairmanship, in particular an OSCE-wide conference on counterterrorism to take place in Switzerland at the end of April. During the ministerial meeting, the participants also adopted the following three GCTF framework documents:

  • Good Practices on Community Engagement and Community-Oriented Policing as Tools to Counter Violent Extremism
  • Ankara Memorandum on Good Practices for a Multi-Sectoral Approach to Countering Violent Extremism
  • Madrid Memorandum on Good Practices for Assistance to Victims of Terrorism Immediately after the Attack and in Criminal Proceedings

The Counterterrorism Coordination Office, which is attached to the FDFA, secures Switzerland’s contacts with the Forum.

Département fédéral des affaires étrangères

Navigation

Navigation principale

Navigation secondaire

Informations complémentaires

Recherche rapide

Réunion ministérielle New York, 27.9.2013
Réunion ministérielle Abou Dhabi, 14.12.2012
Réunion ministérielle d'Istanbul, 07.06.2012
Fondation du Forum, 22.09.2011
Contact spécialisé

Vous êtes ici :

Forum mondial contre le terrorisme

Le Forum mondial contre le terrorisme renforce et complète les activités internationales déjà en cours en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme. La Suisse œuvre également dans ce cadre en faveur de la promotion des droits de l’homme et d'une articulation étroite entre le Forum et l’ONU.

Le Forum mondial contre le terrorisme (Global Counterterrorism Forum – GCTF) a été créé en septembre 2011 à New York. Ce forum regroupe 29 Etats de toutes les régions du monde et l’Union européenne. Il a pour vocation d’identifier les besoins nationaux et internationaux en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme, d’élaborer des solutions pertinentes ainsi que de coordonner et renforcer les capacités des Etats intéressés dans ce domaine.

Le GCTF se compose d’un Comité de coordination coprésidé par les États-Unis et la Turquie, ainsi que de cinq groupes de travail qui consacrent leurs travaux aux domaines d’activité ci-après:

Domaines thématiques:

  • justice pénale et primauté du droit dans la lutte contre le terrorisme
  • lutte contre l’extrémisme violent

Domaines géographiques:

  • région du Sahel
  • Corne de l’Afrique
  • Asie du Sud-est

Priorités de la Suisse 
Ce forum offre à la Suisse une plateforme importante pour préserver ses intérêts et valeurs dans le domaine de la lutte contre le terrorisme. Elle œuvre également dans ce cadre en faveur de la promotion des droits de l’homme et d’une articulation étroite entre le forum et l’ONU.

Pour articuler ses activités avec celles de l’ONU, le forum doit porter une attention égale aux quatre piliers de la stratégie antiterroriste mondiale

  • mesures visant à éliminer les conditions propices à la propagation du terrorisme
  • mesures visant à prévenir et combattre le terrorisme
  • mesures destinées à étoffer les moyens dont disposent les États et à renforcer le rôle de l’ONU
  • mesures garantissant le respect des droits de l’Homme et la primauté du droit en tant que base fondamentale de la lutte antiterroriste

La Suisse a organisé une conférence internationale les 23 et 24 février 2012 à Interlaken, en vue d’assurer une coordination optimale de la lutte contre le terrorisme entre le forum, l’ONU et d’autres organisations internationales et régionales. Lors de cette conférence, les membres du GCTF ont pu souligner leur appui au rôle central incombant aux Nations Unies dans la lutte internationale contre le terrorisme.

Lors de la 4e réunion ministérielle du Forum mondial contre le terrorisme (Global Counterterrorism Forum – GCTF) à New York, la Suisse a exposé ses priorités en matière de lutte antiterroriste. Premièrement, elle soutient une initiative visant à améliorer l’examen bisannuel de la Stratégie antiterroriste mondiale de l’ONU, afin de renforcer l’approche globale en matière de lutte contre le terrorisme. Cela comprend en outre des projets ayant pour objet d’assurer le respect des droits de l’homme dans le cadre des poursuites pénales engagées dans les cas de terrorisme, ainsi que des mesures destinées à prévenir le financement du terrorisme. Deuxièmement, la Suisse appuie une nouvelle initiative visant à créer un fonds mondial destiné à renforcer les efforts déployés au niveau local pour contrer l’extrémisme violent. Et troisièmement, elle fera de la lutte contre le terrorisme l’une des priorités de sa présidence de l’OSCE. Fin avril 2014, elle organisera en Suisse une conférence à l’échelle de l’OSCE, qui sera consacrée à la lutte antiterroriste. Les participants à la réunion ministérielle ont par ailleurs adopté trois documents-cadres du GCTF :

  • Good Practices on Community Engagement and Community-Oriented Policing as Tools to Counter Violent Extremism 
  • Ankara Memorandum on Good Practices for a Multi-Sectoral Approach to Countering Violent Extremism 
  • Madrid Memorandum on Good Practices for Assistance to Victims of Terrorism Immediately after the Attack and in Criminal Proceedings 

L’unité de coordination de la lutte contre le terrorisme, qui est rattachée au DFAE, assure les contacts entre la Suisse et le Forum.