Swiss companies in Southern Africa

More than 100 Swiss companies are currently operating in South Africa employing around 50’000 persons. Switzerland is the 7th biggest investor in South Africa.

The Free Trade Agreement between the Member States of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) - Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland – and the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) – comprising of Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland entered into force on 1 May 2008.

In order to advance the development of bilateral commercial and economic relations, Switzerland and South Africa engage in a Joint Economic Commission (JEC) on an annual basis. Challenges that Swiss companies face are addressed through dialogues with local government officials.

The SBHSA together with the Swiss Chamber of Commerce by the name of SwissCham Southern Africa-South African Chapter not only promote and advance a business friendly environment but also represent the interests of the Swiss companies in South Africa. Newly settle companies are welcome to register with the SwissCham.