Consular Directorate

The Consular Directorate (CD) is taking account of the growing mobility of Swiss citizens. It has grouped together its consular services and, as a central contact point, it is able to guarantee an optimal level of public service. It is divided into three divisions:

  • The Swiss Citizen Services supports the network of Swiss representations abroad (embassies and consulates), and operates the FDFA HelpLine, the central contact point for all enquiries and information relating to consular services.
  • The Delegate for Relations with the Swiss Abroad promotes the interests of Swiss nationals living abroad, and provides them with information on the topic of living abroad.
  • The Consular Strategies, Developments and Agreements Division ensures that Swiss representations abroad have the necessary instruments at their disposal for providing an efficient public service in line with people' needs.