Swiss Contribution Office Bucharest

Logo swiss-romanian cooperation programme
The Logo of the Swiss-Romanian Cooperation Programme FDFA


Swiss Contribution

Strategy, themes and projects of Swiss foreign policy and cooperation on the ground


Local and international news


Search for events via date, search term or topic

Job vacancies

Local job vacancies open at the Swiss embassy / Swiss Contribution Office for Romania

Switzerland has made available CHF 1 billion for the countries that joined the European Union on 1 May 2004. Since 2009 Switzerland has also supported Bulgaria and Romania, which became EU members on 1 January 2007, with a total of 257 Millionen CHF. Croatia became the 28th member of the EU on 1 July 2013. Switzerland is also supporting this new EU member with the amount of CHF 45 million, as decided by Parliament in December 2014. The projects selected in the framework of this contribution will be implemented by 2024.

With this sum, Switzerland expresses its solidarity with the new EU members, which are making major efforts to reduce social and economic inequalities. The contribution is also a continuation of the technical and financial aid that Switzerland has provided since the beginning of the 1990s. The people of Switzerland approved the EU enlargement contribution on 26 November 2006 with 53% of the vote in favour.

The contribution to Romania amounts to CHF 181 million. It is based on the Swiss-Romanian framework agreement of 7 September 2010, which sets priorities concerning areas of activity and governs procedures. Switzerland’s most important partner in Romania is the Romanian Ministry of Public Finance, which functions as the National Coordination Unit. As a rule, all project applications are submitted via this point. Separate rules apply to the funds to be used for priority aspects of individual thematic areas. 

The Swiss Contribution Office (SCO) for Romania within the Swiss Embassy monitors the implementation of the Swiss-Romanian Cooperation Programme. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) are responsible for approving projects.