The founding and evolution of the EU

Hundreds of people from West and East Berlin standing on the wall near Brandenburg Gate.
The fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 was a defining moment in history. Known in Germany as the turning point, it took just three years after the wall came down to adopt the Maastricht Treaty establishing the European Union. © Wikimedia

The Maastricht Treaty established the European Union, with the European Communities making up the first of three pillars. New additions were a common foreign and security policy as the second pillar and greater cooperation in justice and home affairs as the third. The Treaties of Nice and Amsterdam were later added to the existing set of agreements, in part due to the upcoming expansion of the EU to the east.

In 1989, a fundamental and unexpected change occurred on the continent: Hungary opened its borders to the West, and the Wall fell in divided Berlin. This was followed by the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991. Following the end of the Cold War and the reunification of Germany, the European Union was created in 1992 by the Treaty of Maastricht. This treaty also introduced the three-pillar structure, with the European Communities (EC) as the first pillar, adding the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) as the second pillar, and Justice and Home Affairs (JHA) as the third pillar, which enhanced cooperation in the area of law enforcement and home affairs. In the first pillar the decisions of the EC were mostly made according to the principle of qualified majority voting, whereas in the second and third pillars intergovernmental cooperation was the rule and decisions were reached unanimously.

The economic and monetary union

Map of the economic and monetary union
Map of the economic and monetary union © DEA

The Treaty of Maastricht also initiated an economic and monetary union (EMU). The euro was introduced as an accounting currency in 1999. From that date the European Central Bank operated a single monetary policy for the entire euro area. At the beginning of 2002 the euro was introduced as a cash currency and established itself – at least until the debt crisis of 2010 – as a strong and stable single currency. Today it is the official currency in all 'old' EU states except the United Kingdom, Denmark and Sweden. Of the member states that have joined since 2004, the first country to meet the necessary convergence criteria was Slovenia, which entered the euro area in 2007. Cyprus and Malta joined in 2008, followed by Slovakia in 2009, Estonia in 2011, Latvia in 2014 and Lithuania in 2015. There are now 19 participating countries in the euro area. Within the framework of an intergovernmental 'fiscal pact' signed in March 2012, the 25 EU members committed themselves to strengthening budgetary discipline and introducing a debt brake. Only the United Kingdom and the Czech Republic have remained outside the pact.

The Treaties of Nice and Amsterdam

In 1995, Austria, Finland, and Sweden – all former members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) – joined the EU. This brought the total number of EU member states to 15. The Treaties of Amsterdam (1997) and Nice (2001) amended the Treaty of Maastricht with the aim of making the EU institutions work more efficiently, particularly in the run-up to eastern enlargement, which was how the inclusion of numerous Central and Eastern European states was known. The treaties simplified the decision-making process within the EU by replacing the principle of unanimity with a qualified majority in many areas. The joint decision-making power of the European Parliament was also considerably strengthened.

Schengen 1995 / Dublin 1997

The Schengen Agreement came into force in March 1995, allowing the first European states to halt their border controls and to increase inter-state judicial and police cooperation. The Dublin Convention entered into effect two years later, ensuring that each asylum application is only processed in one participating state in the Dublin area. The Dublin criteria establish which country is responsible for dealing with an application. The cooperation between European states known as Schengen/Dublin – in the fields of justice, police, visas and asylum – had been initiated as early as 1985 by five member states of the then EC.

European Security and Defence Policy (ESDP)

In light of the bloodshed in the Balkan wars, the European Council in Cologne in 1999 decided on a common European Security and Defence Policy (ESDP). The EU thereby created the necessary resources to respond more effectively to future conflicts. In particular, the ESDP takes the form of civilian and military peacekeeping operations, also beyond the European continent. The EU has described itself as a global actor prepared to take on more responsibilities.

Milestones

Naissance et développement de l’UE

Des habitants de Berlin-Est et de Berlin-Ouest se retrouvent sur le mur près de la porte de Brandenburg.
La chute du mur de Berlin en 1989 marque un tournant historique décisif. À peine trois ans plus tard, le Traité de Maastricht institue l’Union européenne. © Wikimedia

Le Traité de Maastricht constitue l’acte de naissance de l’Union européenne. Au premier pilier que formaient déjà les Communautés européennes s’ajoutent alors deux nouveaux piliers: la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune (PESC) et la coopération renforcée dans les domaines de la justice et des affaires intérieures. Les traités de Nice et d’Amsterdam, signés ultérieurement, consolident et développent les accords existants, notamment en vue de l’élargissement à l’Est.

En 1989, des changements profonds et inattendus ont bouleversé le continent: l’ouverture de la frontière occidentale de la Hongrie, la chute du mur de Berlin puis, en décembre 1991, la dissolution de l’Union soviétique. Après la fin de la guerre froide et la réunification de l’Allemagne, le Traité de Maastricht a fondé, en 1992, l’Union européenne (UE). Au premier pilier que formaient les Communautés européennes, se sont ajoutés deux nouveaux piliers: la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune (PESC) et une coopération renforcée dans les domaines de la justice et des affaires intérieures. Dans le premier pilier, les décisions de la CE étaient principalement adoptées à la majorité qualifiée. Dans les deuxième et troisième piliers, en revanche, il s’agissait d’une coopération intergouvernementale, pour laquelle les décisions ne pouvaient être prises qu’à l’unanimité.

Union économique et monétaire européenne

Carte de l’Europe avec les pays membres de L'Union économique et monétaire
Carte de l’Union économique et monétaire européenne © DAE

Le Traité de Maastricht institua en outre une Union économique et monétaire (UEM). L’euro fut introduit comme monnaie scripturale en 1999, moment à partir duquel la Banque centrale européenne (BCE) commença à mener une politique monétaire unique pour l’ensemble de la zone euro. L’euro fut mis en circulation en 2002 et s’imposa rapidement comme monnaie unique, stable et forte (du moins jusqu’à la crise de la dette en 2010), devenant la monnaie officielle de tous les «anciens» États membres de l’UE, à l’exception du Royaume-Uni, du Danemark et de la Suède. Parmi les États ayant adhéré en 2004, la Slovénie a été le premier pays à remplir les critères de convergence et a rejoint la zone euro en 2007. Chypre et Malte ont suivi en 2008, la Slovaquie en 2009, l’Estonie en 2011, la Lettonie en 2014 et la Lituanie en 2015. La zone euro compte désormais 19 États participants. Dans le cadre d’un «pacte budgétaire» intergouvernemental signé en mars 2012, 25 États membres se sont engagés à renforcer leur discipline budgétaire et à introduire un frein à l’endettement (la Grande-Bretagne et la République tchèque n’ont pas signé le pacte).

Traités de Nice et d’Amsterdam

En 1995, l’Autriche, la Suède et la Finlande ont quitté l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) pour adhérer à l’UE. L’Union a vu alors le nombre de ses États membres passer à 15. Le Traité d’Amsterdam (1997) et le Traité de Nice (2001) ont réformé le Traité de Maastricht. Il s’agissait de rendre l’UE plus opérationnelle, notamment en vue de l’élargissement à l’Est et de l’intégration de nombreux États d’Europe centrale et orientale. Ces traités ont simplifié les processus décisionnels au sein de l’Union en remplaçant, dans de nombreux domaines, le principe de l’unanimité par celui de la majorité qualifiée. Le droit de codécision du Parlement européen a en outre été sensiblement renforcé.

Schengen 1995 / Dublin 1997

L’Accord de Schengen est entré en vigueur en mars 1995. Les premiers États européens ont alors abandonné les contrôles à leurs frontières intérieures et renforcé la coopération en matière judiciaire et policière. La Convention de Dublin est entrée en vigueur deux ans plus tard. Au terme de cet accord, toute demande d’asile n'est examinée que par un seul État à l’intérieur de l’espace Dublin. Les critères de Dublin définissent la compétence nationale. La collaboration Schengen/Dublin menée dans les domaines de la justice, de la police, des visas et de l’asile a été amorcée en 1985 déjà, sous l’impulsion des cinq États membres de l’ancienne Communauté européenne.

Politique de sécurité et de défense commune PSDC

Sur fond de guerres sanglantes dans les Balkans, le Conseil européen a décidé en 1999, à Cologne, de mettre en place une politique européenne de sécurité et de défense (PESD, qui deviendra en 2007 la politique de sécurité et de défense commune, PSDC). L’UE s’est ainsi dotée de moyens adéquats pour répondre plus efficacement à de nouveaux conflits. Ces moyens ont notamment pris la forme de missions civiles et militaires de maintien de la paix, en Europe ou ailleurs. L’UE s’est ainsi positionnée comme un acteur global prêt à assumer davantage de responsabilités.

Les étapes importantes