A global compass for sustainable development

The 193 member states of the United Nations adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development on 25 September 2015. The Agenda represents the synthesis of the UN conferences on sustainable development of 1992, 2002, and 2012, and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which lapsed at the end of 2015.

The 2030 Agenda is a major milestone in sustainable development. Beginning in 2016, it sets the globally applicable framework for national and international efforts to find shared solutions to the world's greatest challenges, such as extreme poverty, climate change, environmental degradation and health-related crises. The 2030 Agenda applies to all states, whether north or south of the equator, and determines international guidelines and priorities for sustainable development up to 2030. It is intended to help strengthen economic growth, promote human welfare, and protect the environment. It also takes up aspects such as peace, the rule of law and good governance, which are all essential to sustainable development.

At the heart of the 2030 Agenda are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs, and their 169 targets.

The outcome of the Third International Conference on Financing for Development in Addis Ababa – the Addis Ababa Action Agenda – also forms an integral part of the 2030 Agenda.  It determines a new framework for the funding and realisation of sustainable development.

Cadre de référence mondial du développement durable

Le 25 septembre 2015, les 193 États membres de l’ONU ont adopté l’Agenda 2030 de développement durable. Ce dernier résulte des travaux des Conférences des Nations Unies sur le développement durable (1992, 2002, 2012) et prend le relais des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD), arrivés à échéance en décembre 2015.

L’Agenda 2030 marque une étape importante pour le développement durable. Depuis 2016, il sert de cadre aux efforts déployés conjointement aux niveaux national et international pour relever les grands défis de la planète, comme l’extrême pauvreté, les changements climatiques, la destruction de l’environnement et les crises sanitaires. L’Agenda 2030 s’applique à tous les pays, du Nord comme du Sud, et fixe les lignes directrices et les priorités internationales applicables d’ici à 2030 en matière de développement durable. Il a pour but de contribuer au développement économique, de favoriser la prospérité et de lutter contre la dégradation de la planète. Il intègre également des aspects liés à la paix, à l'état de droit et à la gouvernance, qui revêtent une importance fondamentale pour le développement durable.

Ce plan d'action s'articule autour de 17 objectifs de développement durable (ODD), eux-mêmes assortis de 169 cibles.

Les résultats de la 3e Conférence internationale sur le financement du développement, qui s’est tenue à Addis-Abeba, font partie intégrante de l’Agenda 2030. Ils constituent un nouveau cadre pour le financement et la mise en œuvre du développement durable.