International negotiations 2012–2015

Several years of preparation work preceded the adoption of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in 2015. In addition to member states of the UN, non-governmental actors from civil society, the academic community and the private sector were actively involved in drawing up the 2030 Agenda.

Inspired by the positive influence of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the international community resolved at the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20) in June 2012 to develop comprehensive targets for sustainable development. To this end, it appointed an open working group made up of representatives from 30 countries. Switzerland shared a seat in this body with Germany and France. In July 2014, the open working group adopted a proposal comprising 17 sustainable development goals. Intergovernmental negotiations on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development took place between January and August 2015.

Negotiations on the Addis Ababa Action Agenda – a new financing framework for sustainable development – were held in parallel with the negotiations on the 2030 Agenda. The international community adopted the Action Agenda at the Third International Conference on Financing for Development in Addis Ababa in July 2015.

The 2030 Agenda was officially adopted at the summit of heads of state and government at the UN in New York in September 2015. It is valid until 2030. Countries must report at regular intervals on the progress and challenges of the implementation process.

The Millenium Development Goals

UN Conference Rio+20
The website link is for the Swiss Platform for Rio+20

Addis Ababa Action Agenda

The national process

The international community spent between 2012 and 2015 defining and negotiating the 2030 Agenda. At the national level the FDFA was responsible for coordinating work and representing Switzerland in international negotiations. A Task Force was set up in 2012. Comprising representatives of stakeholder federal government agencies, it led the process of developing Switzerland's negotiating position, and held regular public information events and consultations with politicians and representatives of civil society, the academic community and the private sector. The Task Force will continue its work through to 2018. This preparatory process enabled Switzerland to present a broad-based position within the international bodies. The Federal Council approved this Swiss position on 25 June 2014, forming the basis of the official Swiss negotiating mandate.

Stages in the national process during international negotiations from 2012 to 2015

  • The Federal Council approved Switzerland's position on the 2030 Agenda on 25 June 2014, as part of the decree on Switzerland's priorities for the 69th session of the UN General Assembly

Swiss Position on a Framework for Sustainable Development Post-2015 (PDF, Number of pages 24, 1.2 MB, English)

  • Around 150 politicians and representatives of the private sector, government, civil society and the academic community took part in a public event held on 8 May 2015 as part of the national process on the Post-2015 Agenda.

Auf dem richtigen Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft? 11.05.2015 (de)

Einladung: Die Post-2015 Agenda und die Schweiz/November 2014, 10.11.2014 (de)

Post-2015 Agenda: Einladung zu den Nationalen Konsultationen, 10.04.2014 (de)

  • On 9 December 2013, the SDC organised a panel discussion entitled Auf dem Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft: Die Post-2015 Agenda und die Schweiz ('The path to a sustainable future: the Post-2015 Agenda and Switzerland')

NZZ article: Von der Entwicklung zur Nachhaltigkeit

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 31, 1.9 MB, German)

Flyer (PDF, Number of pages 4, 1.5 MB, multilingual: German, French)

  • Public information and consultation of 8 April 2013

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 31, 156.1 kB, German)

Presentation (PDF, Number of pages 7, 506.0 kB, German) 

  • Information and consultation of 18 January 2013 – discussion with the private sector (members of the UN Global Compact Network Switzerland)

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 3, 132.3 kB, German)

Presentation (PDF, Number of pages 10, 577.1 kB, German)

  • Information and consultation of 10 December 2012 – discussion with Swiss research institutions

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 6, 346.2 kB, German)

Presentation (PDF, Number of pages 18, 2.0 MB, German)

  • Information and consultation of 5 November 2012 – discussion with Swiss NGOs

Minutes of event (PDF, Page 1, 133.9 kB, German)

Processus international de négociation 2012–2015

L’adoption de l’Agenda 2030 pour le développement durable en 2015 a été précédée de plusieurs années de préparation. Outre les États membres de l’ONU, des acteurs non étatiques tels que la société civile, le monde scientifique et le secteur privé se sont associés activement à son élaboration.

Inspirée par le retentissement positif des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD), la communauté internationale a décidé en juin 2012, lors de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le développement durable (Rio+20), d’élaborer des objectifs généraux en vue d’un développement durable. Elle a confié cette mission à un groupe de travail ouvert composé de représentants de 30 pays, au sein duquel la Suisse partageait un siège avec l’Allemagne et la France. En juillet 2014, le groupe de travail a adopté une proposition comprenant 17 objectifs de développement durable. Les négociations sur l’Agenda 2030 pour le développement durable ont eu lieu entre janvier et août 2015.

Parallèlement aux négociations sur l'Agenda 2030 ont eu lieu les discussions sur le programme d’action d’Addis-Abeba. La communauté internationale a adopté ce nouveau cadre de financement pour le développement durable dans la capitale éthiopienne en juillet 2015, lors de la 3e Conférence internationale sur le financement du développement.

L’Agenda 2030 a été adopté officiellement à l’occasion d’un sommet réunissant les chefs d’État et de gouvernement au siège de l’ONU à New York en septembre 2015. Il s’appliquera jusqu’en 2030. Les pays établiront des rapports réguliers sur l'avancement des travaux de mise en œuvre et les difficultés rencontrées.

Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement

Conférence de l'ONU Rio+20

Programme d’action d’Addis-Abeba (en)

Processus national d'accompagnement

Entre 2012 et 2015, la communauté internationale s’est attachée à définir et à négocier l’Agenda 2030. Au niveau national, la coordination des travaux et la représentation de la Suisse dans les négociations internationales ont été confiées au DFAE. Une task force, instituée en octobre 2012 et réunissant les offices fédéraux intéressés, a piloté le processus visant à définir la position de la Suisse et a organisé régulièrement des réunions d’information et des consultations avec des représentants des milieux politiques, scientifiques et économiques ainsi que des organisations de la société civile. Ses travaux prendront fin en 2018. Grâce à ce processus préparatoire, la Suisse a été en mesure de présenter dans les instances internationales une position bénéficiant d’un large consensus. Approuvée par le Conseil fédéral le 25 juin 2014, cette position a servi de fondement au mandat officiel confié à la délégation suisse en charge des négociations.

Étapes du Processus national d’accompagnement pendant les négociations internationales 2012 - 2015 

  • La position de la Suisse sur l'Agenda 2030 de développement durable a été approuvée le 25 juin 2014 par le Conseil fédéral dans le cadre de la décision sur les priorités suisses pour la 69e session de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies:

Position de la Suisse sur un cadre pour un développement durable après 2015 (PDF, Nombre de pages 27, 1.2 MB, Français)

 

  • Environ 150 représentantes et représentants de l’économie, de la politique, de l’administration, de la société civile et des milieux scientifiques ont participé à la Journée du 8 mai 2015 consacrée au Processus national sur l’Agenda post-2015. 

Auf dem richtigen Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft?, 11.05.2015 (de) 

Invitation: L'agenda post-2015 et la Suisse / novembre 2014, 10.11.2014

Agenda post-2015 Invitation à participer aux consultations nationales, 10.04.2014 

  • Le 9 décembre 2013, la DDC a organisé une table ronde sur le thème «En route pour un avenir durable: l’agenda post-2015 et la Suisse». L'agenda post-2015 et la Suisse

Article de la NZZ: Von der Entwicklung zur Nachhaltigkeit (de)

Procès-verbal (PDF, Nombre de pages 31, 1.9 MB, Allemand)

Dépliant (PDF, Nombre de pages 4, 1.5 MB, Multilingue: Allemand, Français) 

  • Réunion d'information et consultation publique du 8 avril 2013 

Procès-verbal (PDF, Nombre de pages 31, 156.1 kB, Allemand)

Présentation (PDF, Nombre de pages 7, 506.0 kB, Allemand) 

  • Réunion d’information et consultation du 18 janvier 2013: échanges avec le secteur privé (membres du Pacte mondial de l’ONU en Suisse)

Procès-verbal (PDF, Nombre de pages 3, 132.3 kB, Allemand)

Présentation (PDF, Nombre de pages 10, 577.1 kB, Allemand) 

  • Réunion d’information et consultation du 10 décembre 2012: échanges avec des institutions de recherche suisses

Procès-verbal (PDF, Nombre de pages 6, 346.2 kB, Allemand)

Présentation (PDF, Nombre de pages 18, 2.0 MB, Allemand) 

  • Réunion d’information et consultation du lundi 5 novembre 2012: échanges avec des ONG suisses

Procès-verbal (PDF, Page 1, 133.9 kB, Allemand)