International negotiations 2012–2015

Several years of preparation work preceded the adoption of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in 2015. In addition to member states of the UN, non-governmental actors from civil society, the academic community and the private sector were actively involved in drawing up the 2030 Agenda.

Inspired by the positive influence of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the international community resolved at the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20) in June 2012 to develop comprehensive targets for sustainable development. To this end, it appointed an open working group made up of representatives from 30 countries. Switzerland shared a seat in this body with Germany and France. In July 2014, the open working group adopted a proposal comprising 17 sustainable development goals. Intergovernmental negotiations on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development took place between January and August 2015.

Negotiations on the Addis Ababa Action Agenda – a new financing framework for sustainable development – were held in parallel with the negotiations on the 2030 Agenda. The international community adopted the Action Agenda at the Third International Conference on Financing for Development in Addis Ababa in July 2015.

The 2030 Agenda was officially adopted at the summit of heads of state and government at the UN in New York in September 2015. It is valid until 2030. Countries must report at regular intervals on the progress and challenges of the implementation process.

The Millenium Development Goals

UN Conference Rio+20
The website link is for the Swiss Platform for Rio+20

Addis Ababa Action Agenda

The national process

The international community spent between 2012 and 2015 defining and negotiating the 2030 Agenda. At the national level the FDFA was responsible for coordinating work and representing Switzerland in international negotiations. A Task Force was set up in 2012. Comprising representatives of stakeholder federal government agencies, it led the process of developing Switzerland's negotiating position, and held regular public information events and consultations with politicians and representatives of civil society, the academic community and the private sector. The Task Force will continue its work through to 2018. This preparatory process enabled Switzerland to present a broad-based position within the international bodies. The Federal Council approved this Swiss position on 25 June 2014, forming the basis of the official Swiss negotiating mandate.

Stages in the national process during international negotiations from 2012 to 2015

  • The Federal Council approved Switzerland's position on the 2030 Agenda on 25 June 2014, as part of the decree on Switzerland's priorities for the 69th session of the UN General Assembly

Swiss Position on a Framework for Sustainable Development Post-2015 (PDF, Number of pages 24, 1.2 MB, English)

  • Around 150 politicians and representatives of the private sector, government, civil society and the academic community took part in a public event held on 8 May 2015 as part of the national process on the Post-2015 Agenda.

Auf dem richtigen Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft? 11.05.2015 (de)

Einladung: Die Post-2015 Agenda und die Schweiz/November 2014, 10.11.2014 (de)

Post-2015 Agenda: Einladung zu den Nationalen Konsultationen, 10.04.2014 (de)

  • On 9 December 2013, the SDC organised a panel discussion entitled Auf dem Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft: Die Post-2015 Agenda und die Schweiz ('The path to a sustainable future: the Post-2015 Agenda and Switzerland')

NZZ article: Von der Entwicklung zur Nachhaltigkeit

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 31, 1.9 MB, German)

Flyer (PDF, Number of pages 4, 1.5 MB, multilingual: German, French)

  • Public information and consultation of 8 April 2013

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 31, 156.1 kB, German)

Presentation (PDF, Number of pages 7, 506.0 kB, German) 

  • Information and consultation of 18 January 2013 – discussion with the private sector (members of the UN Global Compact Network Switzerland)

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 3, 132.3 kB, German)

Presentation (PDF, Number of pages 10, 577.1 kB, German)

  • Information and consultation of 10 December 2012 – discussion with Swiss research institutions

Minutes of event (PDF, Number of pages 6, 346.2 kB, German)

Presentation (PDF, Number of pages 18, 2.0 MB, German)

  • Information and consultation of 5 November 2012 – discussion with Swiss NGOs

Minutes of event (PDF, Page 1, 133.9 kB, German)

Internationaler Verhandlungsprozess 2012–2015

Der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung im Jahr 2015 ging ein mehrjähriger Vorbereitungsprozess voraus. Neben den Mitgliedstaaten der UNO arbeiteten auch nichtstaatliche Akteure wie die Zivilgesellschaft, die Wissenschaft und der Privatsektor aktiv an der Ausarbeitung der Agenda 2030 mit.

Inspiriert durch die positive Ausstrahlung der Millenniumsentwicklungsziele (Millennium Development Goals, MDGs) beschloss die internationale Staatengemeinschaft an der UNO-Konferenz für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Rio+20) im Juni 2012, umfassende Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung auszuarbeiten und dafür eine offene Arbeitsgruppe mit 30 Landesvertreterinnen und Landesvertretern einzusetzen. Die Schweiz teilte sich in diesem Gremium einen Sitz mit Deutschland und Frankreich. Im Juli 2014 verabschiedete die offene Arbeitsgruppe einen Vorschlag, welcher 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung umfasst. Zwischen Januar und August 2015 fanden die zwischenstaatlichen Verhandlungen zur Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung statt.

Parallel zu den Verhandlungen zur Agenda 2030 fanden die Verhandlungen zur Addis Abeba Aktionsagenda statt, einem neuen Rahmenwerk zur Finanzierung für nachhaltige Entwicklung, welches die Staatengemeinschaft anlässlich der dritten internationalen Entwicklungsfinanzierungskonferenz im Juli 2015 in Addis Abeba verabschiedete.

Offiziell verabschiedet wurde die Agenda 2030 anlässlich eines Gipfeltreffens der Staats- und Regierungschefs an der UNO in New York im September 2015. Sie wird bis 2030 Gültigkeit haben. Die Länder sollen in regelmässigen Abständen über Fortschritte sowie Herausforderungen in der Umsetzung Bericht erstatten.

Milleniumsentwicklungsziele 

UNO-Konferenz Rio+20

Addis Abeba Aktionsagenda (en)

Nationaler Begleitprozess

Die Staatengemeinschaft befasste sich von 2012 bis 2015 mit der Definition und Verhandlung der Agenda 2030. Auf nationaler Ebene oblagen dem EDA die Koordination der Arbeiten und die Vertretung in den internationalen Verhandlungen. Eine im Oktober 2012 eingesetzte Task Force, welche bis 2018 weiterarbeitet und die interessierten Bundesstellen umfasst, steuerte den Prozess zur Entwicklung der Verhandlungsposition der Schweiz und führte regelmässig öffentliche Informationsveranstaltungen und Konsultationen mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft, Wissenschaft und Privatwirtschaft durch. Durch diesen Vorbereitungsprozess konnte die Schweiz eine breit abgestützte Position in die internationalen Gremien einbringen. Der Bundesrat hiess diese  Schweizer Position am 25. Juni 2014 gut. Sie  bildete die Grundlage des offiziellen Schweizer Verhandlungsmandats.

Etappen des nationalen Begleitprozesses während den internationalen Verhandlungen 2012-2015 

  • Die Schweizer Position bezüglich der Agenda 2030 wurde am 25. Juni 2014 vom Bundesrat im Rahmen des Beschlusses über die Schweizer Prioritäten für die 69. UNO-Generalversammlung gutgeheissen.

Schweizer Position zur Agenda für eine Nachhaltige Entwicklung post-2015 (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 26, 1.2 MB, Deutsch)

 

  • An der öffentlichen Veranstaltung am 8. Mai 2015 im Rahmen des nationalen Prozesses zur Post-2015 Agenda nahmen rund 150 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Privatwirtschaft, Politik, Verwaltung, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft teil.

Auf dem richtigen Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft?, 11.05.2015

Einladung: Die Post-2015 Agenda und die Schweiz/November 2014, 10.11.2014

Post-2015 Agenda: Einladung zu den Nationalen Konsultationen, 10.04.2014 

  • Am 9. Dezember 2013 hat die DEZA eine Podiumsdiskussion veranstaltet unter dem Titel «Auf dem Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft: Die Post-2015 Agenda und die Schweiz».

NZZ-Artikel: Von der Entwicklung zur Nachhaltigkeit

Protokoll (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 31, 1.9 MB, Deutsch)

Flyer (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 4, 1.5 MB, mehrsprachig: Deutsch, Französisch) 

  • Öffentliche Information und Konsultation vom 8. April 2013

Protokoll (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 31, 156.1 kB, Deutsch)

Präsentation (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 7, 506.0 kB, Deutsch) 

  • Information und Konsultation vom 18. Januar 2013– Austausch mit Privatsektor (Mitglieder UN Global Compact Netzwerk Schweiz)

Protokoll (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 3, 132.3 kB, Deutsch)

Präsentation (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 10, 577.1 kB, Deutsch) 

  • Information und Konsultation vom 10. Dezember 2012 – Austausch mit Schweizer Forschungsinstitutionen

Protokoll (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 6, 346.2 kB, Deutsch)

Präsentation (PDF, Anzahl Seiten 18, 2.0 MB, Deutsch) 

  • Information und Konsultation vom 5. November 2012 – Austausch mit Schweizerischen NGOs

Protokoll (PDF, Seite 1, 133.9 kB, Deutsch)