Energy

Wind farm on Mont Crosin
Wind farm on Mont Crosin © Ringier

Switzerland's energy consumption is fed mainly by imported, non-renewable sources.  The Energy Strategy 2050, launched by the Federal Council in 2011, seeks to reduce consumption and promote the use of more sustainable sources of energy.

Switzerland's main sources of energy are oil, nuclear and hydroelectric power and natural gas. Around 80% of Switzerland's energy consumption is fed by non-renewable, imported sources. In 2011, Switzerland embarked on an energy transition to reduce its reliance on imports of fossil fuels. 

The new energy strategy, which will be implemented in stages, aims by 2050 to massively reduce energy consumption and significantly increase the share of renewables in Switzerland's energy mix. Switzerland's nuclear power plants are to be decommissioned at the end of their operating lives.

Energy – Facts and Figures

The main sources of energy in Switzerland are oil, natural gas, nuclear power and hydropower. Since 2005 Switzerland has seen a surge in the use of renewable energies such as ambient heat, biomass, wind power and solar power.

Energy Policy

Fossil fuels are the primary source of energy in Switzerland. The federal government has set itself the target of a 20% reduction in fossil fuel consumption and a 50% increase in the share of renewable energies by 2020.

Energy Transition

Switzerland pursues an ambitious energy strategy which will be implemented until 2050. One of its main aims is the phase-out of nuclear power.

Renewable Energy

The renewable energy sector in Switzerland has grown sharply over the last few years. Hydropower is by far the country's most important domestic source of renewable energy.

Non-renewable energy

Non-renewable energy sources dominate Switzerland’s energy mix, hence the country’s heavy reliance on imports to cover its energy needs.

Énergie

Centrale éolienne de Mont-Crosin
Centrale éolienne de Mont-Crosin © Ringier

Aujourd’hui, l’énergie consommée en Suisse, souvent issue de sources non renouvelables, provient avant tout d’importations. La Suisse veut réduire sa consommation et adopter une approche plus durable. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le Conseil fédéral a lancé la stratégie énergétique 2050 en 2011.

Les principales sources d’énergie utilisées en Suisse sont le pétrole, l’électricité produite par les centrales nucléaires et hydroélectriques et le gaz naturel. Environ 80% de la consommation est couverte par des importations d’énergie issue de sources non renouvelables. Afin de se libérer de sa dépendance aux énergies fossiles, qui doivent en outre être importées, la Suisse a décidé en 2011 d’opérer une transition énergétique. 

La nouvelle stratégie énergétique a pour objectif de réduire massivement la consommation d’énergie par étapes d’ici 2050 et d’augmenter de manière significative la part des énergies renouvelables dans le mix énergétique. Les centrales nucléaires doivent être mises hors service à la fin de leur durée d’exploitation.

Énergie – faits et chiffres

Les principales sources d’énergie utilisées en Suisse sont le pétrole, le nucléaire, l’hydraulique et le gaz. Les énergies renouvelables telles que la chaleur ambiante, la biomasse, l’éolien ou le solaire ont connu une forte croissance depuis le milieu des années 2000.

Politique énergétique

Le pétrole est la principale source d’énergie en Suisse. D’ici à 2020, le gouvernement suisse cherche à réduire de 20% la part des énergies fossiles et augmenter de 50% celle des renouvelables.

Transition énergétique

La Suisse a adopté une ambitieuse stratégie énergétique, qui sera mise en œuvre d’ici 2050. Elle passe notamment par un abandon du nucléaire.

Les énergies renouvelables

Les énergies renouvelables ont connu un fort développement en Suisse depuis quelques années. L’hydraulique est de loin la plus utilisée.

Les énergies non renouvelables

Les énergies non renouvelables dominent le mix énergétique en Suisse, ce qui engendre une dépendance de l’étranger en matière d’approvisionnement.