Multilingualism

Switzerland is divided into four distinct language regions. However, many people speak several languages.

Street signs in French and German
Street signs in French and German in the bilingual town Biel/Bienne. © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Six out of ten adults in Switzerland regularly use more than one language.

The most commonly spoken foreign languages are English, Portuguese, Spanish, Serbian, Croatian and Albanian.

Four of Switzerland's 26 cantons are officially multilingual: Bern (German-French), Fribourg (French-German), Valais (French-German) and Graubünden (German-Romansh-Italian). The cities of Biel and Fribourg are bilingual (German and French).

German, French and Italian are the official languages of the Confederation. Romansh, although a national language, is used by the federal authorities only when communicating with Romansh speakers. All official federal documents (legislation, reports, websites, brochures and building signage) must appear in German, French and Italian.

The Federal Office of Culture has chief responsibility for promoting multilingualism. The Federal Languages Act governs the use of the official languages of the Confederation, the promotion of multilingualism within the administration, support for multilingual cantons and the promotion of Romansh and Italian languages and cultures.

Plurilinguisme

La Suisse est composée de quatre régions linguistiques distinctes, mais beaucoup de ses habitants parlent plusieurs langues.

Plaques de rue en allemand et en français
Panneaux de rue en allemand et en français dans la ville bilingue de Biel/Bienne. © DFAE, Présence Suisse

En Suisse, plus de 6 personnes adultes sur 10 utilisent régulièrement plus d’une langue. Hormis les langues nationales, l’anglais, le portugais, l’espagnol, le serbe, le croate et l’albanais font partie des langues fréquemment parlées.

Sur les 26 cantons suisses, 4 sont officiellement plurilingues: Berne (allemand-français), Fribourg (français-allemand), Valais (français-allemand) et Grisons (allemand- romanche-italien). Deux villes sont également considérées comme bilingues français-allemand: Bienne et Fribourg.

Au niveau fédéral, les langues officielles sont l’allemand, le français et l’italien, auxquelles vient s’ajouter le romanche pour les rapports que la Confédération entretient avec les personnes de langue romanche. Tous les textes officiels de la Confédération (textes législatifs, rapports, pages Internet, brochures, inscriptions sur les bâtiments, etc.) doivent être publiés en allemand, en français et en italien.

La promotion du plurilinguisme incombe pour l’essentiel à l’Office fédéral de la culture. La loi sur les langues réglemente notamment l’utilisation des langues officielles de la Confédération et l’encouragement du plurilinguisme dans le service public, le soutien aux cantons plurilingues et la sauvegarde des langues et des cultures romanche et italienne.