Regional specialities

In addition to Switzerland's national dishes, every region has its own culinary specialities.

An assortment of foods in a basket
Regional specialities © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Specialities from German-speaking Switzerland

“Spätzli” are tiny dumplings made from flour, eggs and water. They are found all across German-speaking Switzerland, especially in the canton of Glarus were they are served with the local “Schabziger”, a soft cheese seasoned with dried mixed herbs. The city of Basel is very proud of its “Läckerli”, small biscuits made from honey and candied fruit. “Züri-Geschnätzlets”, finely sliced veal fillet in a creamy mushroom sauce with a helping of rösti on the side, is a typical Zurich speciality.

Specialities of French-speaking Switzerland

The traditional dish of Geneva is “Longeole” (a pork and fennel sausage), which is served with potatoes cooked in white wine. Fribourg is famed for “Gruyère”, the cheese without the holes, and “Gruyère” double cream. Jura has “damassine”, a spirit distilled from damson plums. The canton of Neuchâtel has its own liqueur, the once infamous “absinthe”. Valais is primarily known for its wines and “Raclette”, while the “Saucisson Vaudois” is the pride of the canton of Vaud.

Specialities from Italian-speaking Switzerland

Specialities from the canton of Ticino, such as “osso bucco”, polenta, saffron risotto and minestrone, are heavily influenced by Italian cuisine. Ticino is also an important wine-producer, particularly Merlot. The canton also has its own Ticino loaf (white bread) and “Panettone” (a brioche loaf studded with candied fruit and raisins).

Specialities from Graubünden

Traditional Graubünden specialities include dried meat (“Bündnerfleisch”), Engadine walnut cake, barley soup, “pizokels” (buckwheat pasta), “capuns” (rolls made of chard and filled with “spätzli” dough and meat or slices of sausage) and “maluns” (grated potato mixed with flour and slowly fried in butter).

Additional information

Spécialités régionales

En plus des spécialités nationales, chaque région de Suisse dispose également d’un patrimoine de plats typiques.

Denrées alimentaires présentées dans des paniers
Spécialités régionales © DFAE, Présence Suisse

Spécialités de Suisse alémanique

Les spätzlis sont des petites pâtes à base de farine, d’œufs et d’eau. On les trouve dans toute la Suisse alémanique, et spécialement dans le canton de Glaris, où ils sont préparés avec du schabziger, un fromage aux herbes séchées. Les läckerlis, des petits biscuits à base de miel et de fruits confits, font la fierté du canton de Bâle. A Zurich, l’émincé de veau accompagné de röstis est l’un des plats phares.

Spécialités de Suisse romande

Le plat traditionnel genevois est la longeole (une saucisse de porc et de fenouil), accompagnée de pommes de terres au vin blanc. A Fribourg, le gruyère, un fromage à pâte dure sans trous, et la crème de Gruyère sont les fleurons de la région. Dans le Jura, on produit la damassine, une liqueur distillée à base de prunes de Damas. Dans le canton de Neuchâtel, une autre liqueur, l’absinthe, est particulièrement réputée. Le Valais est connu avant tout pour ses vins et sa raclette. Dans le canton de Vaud, le saucisson vaudois est l’une des spécialités les plus connues.

Spécialités de la Suisse italienne

Les spécialités culinaires du Tessin sont fortement influencées par la gastronomie italienne. On y trouve par exemple l’osso bucco, la polenta, le risotto à la tessinoise et la minestrone. On y produit également du vin, surtout du Merlot, et des pains typiques, comme le pain tessinois (un pain blanc) ou le panettone (un pain brioché aux fruits confits et raisins secs).

Spécialités des Grisons

Le patrimoine gastronomique des Grisons inclut des spécialités comme la viande séchée des Grisons, la tarte aux noix d’Engadine, la soupe à l’orge des Grisons, les pizokels (pâtes à base de sarrasin), les capuns (rouleaux de feuilles de bettes farcies avec de la pâte et de la viande) et les maluns (pommes de terre râpées).

Informations supplémentaires