Swiss specialities

Many of Switzerland’s national dishes are well-known around the world.

Swiss Raclette
Swiss Raclette © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Cheese fondue

Cheese fondue is made from Gruyère and Vacherin cheese (or Appenzeller). A splash of white wine is usually added to help the melting process. The bubbling cheese is served in a “caquelon” (heavy-bottomed pot), into which diners dip small cubes of bread skewered on a long-handled fork.

Raclette

Raclette is a typical dish from Valais. A half cheese round is heated and the melting cheese is scraped on to the plate. Traditionally, it is eaten with boiled potatoes, gherkins and pickled onions, and accompanied by a glass of white wine, usually Fendant.

Rösti

Rösti is a type of potato cake. The potatoes are first cooked in their jackets, then peeled and grated before being fried in butter to form a cake. Each region has their own version. In Bern, rösti comes with cheese, onions and bacon. In Zurich, the birthplace of rösti, the dish is prepared with grated raw potato.

Bircher muesli

Bircher muesli is a breakfast dish or snack made from cereal (oat) flakes, finely chopped fruit and milk. There are countless variations with additional ingredients like honey, yogurt and nuts. Bircher muesli was invented by Swiss doctor Max Bircher-Benner in the early 20th century. It was originally served in sanatoria, but it did not take long before it found its way on to breakfast tables across Switzerland.

Additional information

Spécialités suisses

Quelques plats typiquement suisses sont connus au-delà des frontières nationales. 

La raclette suisse
La raclette suisse © DFAE, Présence Suisse

Fondue au fromage 

La fondue au fromage est un plat de fromage à base de gruyère, de vacherin ou d’appenzeller, généralement fondu avec du vin blanc. Le met est dégusté chaud dans un caquelon, dans lequel les convives trempent des morceaux de pain à l’aide d’une longue fourchette. 

Raclette 

La raclette est un plat typique du Valais, qui se prépare en chauffant une demi meule de fromage. Celle-ci est ensuite raclée dans l’assiette des convives et accompagnée de pommes de terre en robe des champs, de cornichons et de petits oignons. La raclette est généralement accompagnée de vin blanc, en particulier de Fendant. 

Röstis 

Les röstis sont des galettes de pommes de terre. Les pommes de terre sont d’abord cuites, râpées, puis grillées sous forme de galettes. Il existe différentes variantes selon les régions. La version bernoise mélange du fromage, des oignons et du lard. A Zurich, sa région d’origine, les galettes se préparent avec des pommes de terre crues, avant d’être grillées. 

Birchermüesli 

Le birchermüesli est un petit-déjeuner, un repas complet ou un en-cas, composé de blé (ou d’avoine) et de fruits écrasés dans du lait. Il existe aujourd’hui des variantes avec du miel ou du yaourt. La recette a été inventée par le docteur Max Bircher-Benner au début du 20e siècle. D’abord réservé aux cliniques, le plat a progressivement conquis l’ensemble de la population.

Informations supplémentaires