National exhibitions

Every 25 years or so, Switzerland stages a large-scale national exhibition. The last expo was in 2002 and was spread over four sites around Lakes Neuchâtel, Biel and Murten.

The "Monolith" made of rusty steel by Jean Nouvel on Lake Morat at Expo.02
The rusty monolith by Jean Nouvel on Lake Morat during Expo.02 © Nüssli (Schweiz) AG

Roughly every 25 years, Switzerland organises a national exhibition, with the aim of offering a snapshot of prevailing culture, politics and the Swiss economy. The first national exhibition was held in 1883 in Zurich. Its central theme was the importance of school and education for economic growth.

The Swiss army dominated the three subsequent exhibitions (1896 in Geneva, 1914 in Bern and 1939 in Zurich), reflecting a desire by the country to demonstrate its independence. The “Landi” of 1939, in particular, was largely the product of the prevailing ‘national spiritual defence’ policy. In the past, these exhibitions had tended to present an idealised image of life in rural Switzerland in direct contrast to the hustle and bustle of industrial towns. For example, at the 1939 expo, a life-size Swiss village, the “Landi-Dörfli”, was built on the shores of Lake Zurich.

The 1964 National Exhibition in Lausanne presented a futuristic vision of the country through the ‘Gulliver Project’, which involved a computer delivering the latest results of a visitor survey on major current affairs issues in real time. Held at the height of the Cold War, the 1964 Expo showcased Swiss values. For example, the army’s pavilion was in the shape of a giant hedgehog.

The sixth National Exhibition was held in 2002. Expo.02 was spread over four sites, or “arteplages” on Lakes Neuchâtel, Biel and Murten (in the towns of Biel, Neuchâtel, Yverdon-les-Bains and Murten). Expo.02 sought to promote the image of Switzerland as an open and forward-looking nation with a concern for its environmental integrity. Its main theme was water and Switzerland’s commitment to securing peace abroad.

There are plans to hold the next National Exhibition in 2027.  Three teams with very different projects are currently competing for Expo 2027: Nexpo, X27 and Svizra27.

Landesausstellungen

Etwa alle 25 Jahre stellt sich die Schweiz in einer grossen Landesausstellung selber dar. Die letzte dieser Art fand 2002 in der Seenregion Neuenburg, Biel und Murten statt.

Der Monolith aus rostigem Metall von Jean Nouvel auf dem Murtensee an der Expo.02
Der Monolith aus rostigem Metall von Jean Nouvel auf dem Murtensee an der Expo.02. © Nüssli (Schweiz) AG

Etwa alle 25 Jahre ist es Zeit für eine Schweizer Landesausstellung mit dem Ziel, Kultur, Politik und Wirtschaft des Landes als eine Art Momentaufnahme der Epoche darzustellen. Die erste Landesausstellung fand 1883 in Zürich statt, ihr zentrales Thema war die Bedeutung von Schule und Bildung als Wachstumsfaktor der Wirtschaft.

Die drei folgenden Ausstellungen (1896 in Genf, 1914 in Bern und 1939 in Zürich) waren geprägt von der Armee und vom Wunsch, die Eigenständigkeit des Landes zu unterstreichen. Insbesondere die Landi 1939 in Zürich stand ganz im Zeichen der Geistigen Landesverteidigung. Ausserdem betonten sie das Schweizer Landleben als wohltuender Kontrast zur Unruhe in der städtischen Industriewelt. Als Mittel dazu diente zum Beispiel ein in natürlicher Grösse am See in Zürich aufgebautes «Schweizer Dorf», das «Landi-Dörfli»,

Die Landesausstellung von 1964 in Lausanne zeichnete im «Projekt Gulliver» ein futuristisches Bild der Schweiz: Ein Computer lieferte laufend den neuesten Stand einer bei den Ausstellungsbesuchern durchgeführten Umfrage zu den grossen Gegenwartsthemen. In der Zeit des kalten Krieges betonte die Expo in Lausanne aber auch Schweizerische Werte. So zum Beispiel mit einem Pavillon der Armee in Igelform.

Die sechste Landesausstellung fand 2002 statt. Die Expo.02 war auf vier verschiedene Standorte am Wasser – sogenannte Arteplages – in Biel, Neuenburg, Yverdon-les-Bains und Murten verteilt. Die Expo.02 legte den Akzent auf eine offene Schweiz und auf ihre Sorge für eine intakte Umwelt und thematisierte das Wasser und das Engagement der Schweiz zur Friedensicherung im Ausland.

Die nächste Landesausstellung könnte im Jahr 2027 stattfinden. Zur Zeit bewerben sich drei Teams mit sehr unterschiedlichen Projekten um die Expo 2027: Nexpo, X27 und Svizra27.