Events

Every year Switzerland hosts an array of major international events, such as the World Economic Forum in Davos, Art Basel and the athletics meeting “Weltklasse Zurich”.

Exhibition room at Art Basel with visitors
© Art Basel

Switzerland has a very busy events calendar. Many of these events are followed around the world. In mid-January there is the international Lauberhorn ski races in Wengen (canton of Bern), the longest downhill competition in the entire Ski World Cup circuit. Then, towards the end of the month, heads of states, business leaders, economists and other experts from around the world converge on Davos (canton of Graubünden) for the World Economic Forum (WEF).

January is also when Geneva hosts the “Salon international de la haute horlogerie” (international watch fair). In March there is Baselworld, which has been the showcase for leading watch and jewellery brands for close to a century. In June, contemporary art lovers flock to Art Basel. Founded in 1970, and now with parallel events in Miami and Hong Kong, this huge fair exhibits works from 300 galleries and by over 4,000 artists.

The international athletics meeting “Weltklasse Zürich” takes place in August. A total of 25 world records have been set since the first meeting 80 years ago. In September, the winter sports resort Crans-Montana hosts the golf tournament Omega European Masters, one of the most important legs on the European Tour.

Additional information

Veranstaltungen

Mehrere bedeutende internationale Grossveranstaltungen wie das Weltwirtschaftsforum in Davos, die Art Basel oder das Leichtathlektik-Meeting «Weltklasse Zürich» finden jedes Jahr in der Schweiz statt.

Ausstellungsraum bei der Art Basel mit Besuchern
© Art Basel

Das Jahr wird in der Schweiz von einer Reihe von Grossanlässen gegliedert, deren Strahlkraft weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus reicht. Es beginnt Mitte Januar mit dem internationalen Lauberhorn-Skirennen in Wengen (Kanton Bern), die längste Abfahrtsstrecke des Ski-Weltcups. Ende Januar treffen sich die mächtigsten Staatschefs mit Wirtschaftsführern und Experten aus der Wissenschaft in Davos (Kanton Graubünden) zum Weltwirtschaftsforum.

Ebenfalls im Januar bittet Genf zur Internationalen Uhrenmesse (Salon international de la haute horlogerie SIHH), während die Baselworld jeweils im März seit bald einem Jahrhundert die bedeutendsten Uhren- und Schmuckmarken versammelt. Im Juni reisen die Liebhaber zeitgenössischer Kunst zur Art Basel in die Stadt am Rheinknie. Gegründet wurde sie 1970, inzwischen gibt es Parallel-Ausstellungen in Miami und Hong Kong. In dieser riesigen Kunstmesse präsentieren 300 Galerien Kunstwerke von mehr als 4’000 Künstlern.

Im August findet in Zürich das Leichtathletik-Meeting «Weltklasse Zürich» statt. Seit seiner ersten Durchführung vor 80 Jahren hat es 25 Weltrekorde hervorgebracht. Im September organisiert der Wintersportort Crans-Montana das Golfturnier «Omega European Masters», eines der bedeutendsten Tourniere von ganz Europa.

Weiterführende Informationen