Energy Policy

Fossil fuels are the primary source of energy in Switzerland. The federal government has set itself the target of a 20% reduction in fossil fuel consumption and a 50% increase in the share of renewable energies by 2020.

Tower with solar panels
Building with solar panels in Wittigkofen (Berne) © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

With the exception of water and wood, Switzerland has no natural sources of energy. This is why it relies on oil, gas, coal and nuclear fuel imports to cover 80% of its energy needs. In 2015 hydropower accounted for 59.9% of domestic energy production, while 33.5% was generated by the country’s five nuclear power plants. Roughly 6.6% of the energy produced in Switzerland comes from alternative sources (wind power, solar power, waste incineration and biogas). 

Today, Switzerland consumes five times more energy than it did in 1950. Transport is the largest user (over one-third of total consumption). Crude oil is by the far the main source of energy (41.9%), followed by nuclear power (22.3%), hydropower (13.1%) and gas (11%). 

The goal of Swiss energy policy is to guarantee a secure, economical and ecological energy supply. To fulfil this mission, it can rely on a series of legal instruments, including the article added to the Federal Constitution in 1990 and the Federal Energy Act which was passed in 1998. There is also the ‘SwissEnergy’ programme, launched in 2001, which aims to achieve a 20% reduction in CO2 emissions and energy consumption from 1990 levels by 2020, accompanied by a 50% increase in the share of renewables between 2010 and 2020. 

Switzerland has imposed a CO2 levy on fossil fuels (oil, gas, coal) since 2008. Following the nuclear reactor accident in Fukushima in 2011 , Switzerland embarked on an energy transition process, which began with the launch of its national “Energy Strategy 2050”. One of the aims of this strategy is the step-by-step phase-out of nuclear power.

Additional information

Energiepolitik

Erdöl ist die bedeutendste Energiequelle der Schweiz. Die Landesregierung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, bis ins Jahr 2020 den Verbrauch fossiler Energien um 20% zu senken und den Anteil der erneuerbaren Energie um 50% zu erhöhen.

Hochhaus mit Solarzellen
Gebäude mit Solarzellen, Wittigkofen (Bern). © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Ausser Wasser und Holz gibt es in der Schweiz keine natürlichen Energievorkommen. Deshalb importiert sie 80% des Verbrauchs als Erdöl, Erdgas, Kohle und Nuklearbrennstoff. Im Jahr 2015 stammte die einheimische Energieproduktion zu 59,9% aus Wasserkraftwerken und zu 33,5% aus den fünf Kernkraftwerken des Landes. Ein Anteil von rund 6,6% stammt aus alternativer Energieproduktion (Wind, Sonne, Abfallverbrennung und Biogas). 

Seit 1950 ist der Energieverbrauch in der Schweiz um mehr als das Fünffache angestiegen. Am meisten Energie wird mit einem Anteil von über einem Drittel vom Verkehr verbraucht. Das Rohöl ist die bedeutendste Energiequelle (41,9%), gefolgt von der Nuklearenergie (22,3%), der Rohwasserkraft (13,1%) und vom Gas (11%). 

Die schweizerische Energiepolitik verfolgt das Ziel, eine sichere Versorgung mit preisgünstiger und umweltverträglicher Energie zu gewährleisten. Zur Erreichung dieses Ziels steht ihr unter anderem ein Verfassungsartikel aus dem Jahr 1990, das 1998 verabschiedete Energiegesetz und das 2001 lancierte Programm «EnergieSchweiz» zur Verfügung. Dieses verfolgt das Ziel, den CO2-Ausstoss und den Energieverbrauch bis ins Jahr 2020 um 20% gegenüber dem Stand von 1990 zu senken. Ausserdem soll der Anteil an erneuerbarer Energie zwischen 2010 und 2020 um 50% erhöht werden. 

Seit 2008 wird eine CO2-Abgabe auf den fossilen Brennstoffen erhoben (Öl, Gas, Kohle). Als Folge der Nuklearkatastrophe von Fukushima im Jahr 2011 ist in der Schweiz unter dem Namen «Energiestrategie 2050» eine Energiewende im Gange. Sie hat zum Ziel, schrittweise aus der Kernenergie auszusteigen.