Public Finances

By international standards public debt in Switzerland is low. Over the last few years public finances have consistently been in surplus.

Swiss franc pieces falling out of a machine
Minting Swiss franc coins at Swissmint © Swissmint

Federal government spending accounts for around 33% of total public expenditure. At roughly 43%, cantonal spending accounts for the bulk of total public expenditure, while the remaining 24% is spent at communal level.

Taxes are the main source of public revenue. There are two federal taxes – value-added tax (VAT) and the direct federal tax. For the cantons and the communes, the main sources of revenue are personal income tax and private wealth tax.

Changes in public debt levels

Switzerland experienced a dramatic rise in its public debt during the 1990s, going from 30.9% of its gross domestic product (GDP) in 1990 to 52.8% by the end of 2004. Following the introduction of a cap on public spending by the federal government in 2003, Swiss public debt shrank. By 2014 its debt-to-GDP ratio had fallen to 34.7%.

Switzerland's consolidated public accounts (Confederation, cantons, communes, and social security system) have posted a surplus or only a slight deficit since 2006.

Öffentliche Finanzen

Im internationalen Vergleich ist die Verschuldung der öffentlichen Hand in der Schweiz gering. Die Staatsrechnungen schliessen seit mehreren Jahren mit einem Überschuss ab.

Schweizer Franken fallen aus einer Maschine
Herstellung von Schweizer Franken durch Swissmint. © Swissmint

Rund 33% der öffentlichen Ausgaben in der Schweiz betreffen den Bund. Die Ausgaben der Kantone machen mit rund 43% den grössten Teil aus. Die restlichen Ausgaben der öffentlichen Hand (rund 24%) werden von den  Gemeinden getätigt.

Die Steuern sind die wichtigste Einnahmequelle der öffentlichen Hand. Haupteinnahmequelle auf Bundesebene sind die Mehrwertsteuer (MWSt) und die direkte Bundessteuer; auf kantonaler und kommunaler Ebene sind es die Einkommens- und Vermögenssteuern.

Schuldenentwicklung

Im Laufe der 1990er-Jahre stieg die Verschuldung der öffentlichen Hand massiv an – von 30,9% des Brutto-Inlandprodukts (BIP) im Jahr 1990 auf 52,8% Ende 2004. Als Folge einer im Jahr 2003 beim Bund eingeführten Ausgabenbremse sank die Quote der Staatsverschuldung wieder. Im Jahr 2014 betrug sie noch 34,7% des BIP.

Seit 2006 schliessen die konsolidierten Rechnungen der öffentlichen Hand (Bund, Kantone, Gemeinden und Sozialversicherungen) jedes Jahr mit einem Überschuss oder einem knappen Minus ab.