Research and Development

Switzerland is one of the highest spenders on research and development in the world.

Laboratory technician at work
Maschine manufacturing at Buehler AG, Uzwil © Hanspeter Baertschi

Switzerland invests over CHF 16 billion in research and development (R&D) annually, which is equivalent to around 3% of its gross domestic product. This makes it the sixth highest spender on R&D in the world.

The universities and the two federal institutes of technology – the Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich and Lausanne –  focus primarily on basic research. Universities of applied sciences and the private sector, however, concentrate on applied research and responding to the needs of the economy.

The private sector is a major player when it comes to research and development in Switzerland. In 2012, it invested a total of CHF 12.8 billion (2.2% of GDP) in R&D. Three-quarters of this funding went to R&D intensive sectors: the pharmaceutical and chemical industry (34%), the mechanical engineering and metals industry (16%), research laboratories (14%) and new technologies (11%).

Forschung und Entwicklung

Die Schweiz gehört zu den Ländern mit den im internationalen Vergleich höchsten Investitionen für Forschung und Entwicklung.

Laborantin bei der Arbeit
Entwicklungsabteilung der Maschinenproduktion Buehler AG, Uzwil. © Hanspeter Baertschi

Mehr als 16 Milliarden Franken gibt die Schweiz pro Jahr für Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) aus, was gegen 3% des Brutto-Inlandprodukts ausmacht. Im internationalen Vergleich steht die Schweiz damit an sechster Stelle.

Die Universitäten und die beiden eidgenössischen technischen Hochschulen widmen sich in erster Linie der Grundlagenforschung. Die Fachhochschulen und Privatunternehmen indessen kümmern sich um die angewandte Forschung und um die Anforderungen der Wirtschaft.

Im Bereich von Forschung und Entwicklung spielen die privaten Unternehmen in der Schweiz eine massgebliche Rolle. Im Jahr 2012 investierten sie hier 12,8 Milliarden Franken (2,2% des BIP). Drei Viertel dieser Summe entfallen auf Branchen mit traditionell bedeutenden Forschungsaufwendungen: Pharmazeutische und chemische Industrie (34%), Metallindustrie (16%), Forschungslabors (14%) und neue Technologien (11%).