Languages and dialects

The Federal Constitution recognises four national languages: German, French, Italian and Romansh.

A restaurant advertising its fare in Swiss-German dialect
A restaurant advertising its fare in Swiss-German dialect, Rapperswil-Jona. © Mundartbeiz

Swiss German

Swiss German is the most widely spoken language in Switzerland. However, Swiss German is not a single language but a collection of distinct Alemmanic dialects. Most people living in German-speaking Switzerland speak a Swiss-German dialect. Swiss German is the default language of everyday life and is spoken by all, regardless of their social class.

Dialects vary considerably from one region to the next; for example, the Swiss German spoken in Basel is not the same as the Swiss German spoken in Zurich or Bern. There are also variations in the dialect spoken within a large language region. Generally, though, they are not so different as to be incomprehensible to other Swiss-German speakers.

Certain dialects are renowned for their highly specific regional character or particular accent, such as the Swiss German spoken in the remote valleys of Upper Valais, or Seislertütsch, the dialect spoken in the German-speaking part of the canton of Fribourg.

Swiss German is not a written language, although it is used sometimes in personal correspondence. Standard German is used for all formal, written communication.

French

French is the official language of French-speaking Switzerland. Every region has its own idiosyncrasies and accents, but the French that is spoken and written in Switzerland is largely the same as standard French.

Franco-Provençal dialects (patois) were still widely spoken right up until the mid-20th century, but they have all but died out today. Nonetheless, patois is still spoken - mostly by members of the older generation - in some parts of Valais, the Jura and the canton of Fribourg.

Italian

Italian is the official language of Ticino and the southern valleys of Graubünden. Lombard dialects are also still widely spoken today.

Romansh

Although Romansh is spoken by only some 10,000 people in certain parts of Graubünden, it has five distinct dialects: Sursilvan, Sutsilvan, Surmiran, Puter and Vallader.

Sprachen und Dialekte

Die Bundesverfassung kennt vier offizielle Landessprachen: Deutsch, Französisch, Italienisch und Romanisch.

Werbeschilder einer Gastwirtschaft im Deutschschweizer Dialekt
Werbeschilder einer Gastwirtschaft im Deutschschweizer Dialekt, Rapperswil-Jona. © Mundartbeiz

Schweizerdeutsch

Die in der Schweiz am weitesten verbreitete Sprache ist Schweizerdeutsch, unter diesem Oberbegriff ist eine grosse Vielfalt alemannischer Dialekte zusammenfasst. Diese werden von einer grossen Mehrheit der Bevölkerung im deutschsprachigen Teil des Landes gesprochen. Die Dialekte sind Alltagssprache in jedem Bereich und für alle sozialen Schichten.

Zwischen einzelnen Regionen gibt es bedeutende Dialekt-Unterschiede (zum Beispiel zwischen den Regionen Basel, Zürich und Bern). Zudem gibt es innerhalb der grossen Sprachregionen zahlreiche Dialekt-Untergruppen. Doch alle Schweizerdeutsch sprechenden Personen verstehen sich gegenseitig.

Gewisse Dialekte sind gekennzeichnet von sehr starken regionalen Eigenheiten oder besonderen Akzenten wie beispielsweise der Oberwalliser Dialekt, der im deutschsprachigen Teil des Kantons Wallis gesprochen wird, oder das «Seislerisch» im deutschsprachigen Teil des Kantons Freiburg.

Das Schweizerdeutsch ist keine Schriftsprache, abgesehen von informeller Kommunikation zum Beispiel in persönlichen Nachrichten. Für den Schriftverkehr bedient man sich der hochdeutschen Sprache.

Französisch

In der welschen Schweiz ist Französisch die offizielle Landessprache. Jede Region hat ihre Eigenheiten und besonderen Akzente, wobei das Schweizer Französisch nur geringfügig vom Standardfranzösisch abweicht.

Bis in die Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts waren franko-provenzalische Dialekte («Patois») noch recht weit verbreitet, heute sind sie fast vollständig verschwunden. In einigen Walliser Tälern, im Jura und im Kanton Freiburg werden sie jedoch – hauptsächlich von älteren Personen – noch gesprochen.

Italienisch

Im Tessin und in den südlichen Tälern Graubündens ist Italienisch die offizielle Landessprache. Die lombardischen Dialekte sind noch recht weit verbreitet.

Romanisch

Romanisch wird nur von einigen zehntausend Personen in einzelnen Gegenden Graubündens gesprochen. Es gibt fünf verschiedene Dialekte: das Sursilvan, das Sutsilvan, das Surmiran, das Puter und das Vallader.