Ambassador’s welcoming address

© FDFA

Welcome to the website of the Swiss Mission to the European Union, where you will find information about the Mission, its activities in Brussels and the events it organises.

The site is therefore intended to be accessible, easy-to-read, informative and in tune with current affairs. It is designed to guide you through Switzerland’s policy on the EU, help you understand the most important issues and show how Switzerland is safeguarding its interests. The site also introduces the Mission's staff and explains the work of the Mission each domain. The links will also take you to various sources of information within the Swiss federal administration.

Long-term partners

The European Union and Switzerland have been partners for a long time and its relations are wide-ranging and intensive. The reality is simple: Switzerland and the EU need to remain in constant dialogue and continue to improve their cooperation. Switzerland is not a member of the European Union and has chosen to conduct its relations with the EU bilaterally. This is the dynamic approach chosen by the people of Switzerland. We respect it day in day out by insisting on our commitment to the specific characteristics of Swiss sovereignty, while at the same time demonstrating that we are a partner that can be counted upon.

The economic and human dimension of our relations with the EU says more than any speech can (more than 260,000 cross-border commuters come to Switzerland to work every day, 400,000 Swiss nationals live in the European Union, and about 1.25 million EU citizens currently live in Switzerland. Daily trade amounts to nearly a billion Swiss francs.

Growing relations

The discussions and negotiations now under way aim to intensify and reinforce collaboration between Switzerland and the European Union in areas of mutual interest. Switzerland openly seeks to safeguard its interests in a constructive and confident way.

I hope that you will find your visit to the website of the Mission of Switzerland to the European Union useful and enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any suggestions or questions.

Thanks for visiting!

Message d’accueil de l’ambassadeur

Mission de la Suisse auprès de l'Union européenne
L'Ambassadeur Urs Bucher, Chef de la Mission de la Suisse auprès de l'UE, et le Conseiller fédéral Ignazio Cassis, Chef du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères DFAE © DFAE

Je vous souhaite la bienvenue sur le site de la Mission de la Suisse auprès de l’Union européenne. Vous y trouverez des informations sur la Mission, sur les activités qu’elle mène à Bruxelles, sur les événements qu’elle organise.

Le site se veut donc accessible, lisible, informatif, en phase avec l’actualité. Il est conçu de manière à vous guider à travers la politique européenne de la Suisse, à comprendre les enjeux les plus importants, à montrer comment la Suisse défend ses intérêts. Le site permet aussi de connaître et d’expliquer le travail des collaborateurs de la Mission dans chacun des domaines traités. Des liens vous dirigent également vers différentes sources d’information au sein de l’Administration fédérale suisse.

Partenaires de longue date

L’Union européenne et la Suisse sont des partenaires de longue date et leurs relations sont vastes et intenses. La réalité est simple: la Suisse et l’Union européenne ne peuvent cesser de dialoguer et d’améliorer leur coopération. La Suisse n’est pas membre de l’Union européenne et elle a choisi de régler ses relations avec l’UE de manière bilatérale. Cette approche dynamique est voulue par le peuple suisse. Nous la suivons en démontrant tous les jours que nous tenons à notre spécificité tout en étant un partenaire sur lequel on peut compter.

La dimension économique et humaine de nos relations avec l’UE en dit plus que les discours: plus de 316’000 frontaliers viennent travailler chaque jour en Suisse, 430’000 Suissesses et Suisses séjournent dans l’Union européenne et environ 1,4 million de citoyennes et citoyens européens vivent en Suisse. Les échanges commerciaux quotidiens se montent à presque un milliard de francs.

Une relation qui se développe

Les discussions et négociations actuellement en cours dans divers domaines visent l’intensification et le renforcement de la collaboration entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne dans des domaines d’intérêt mutuel. La Suisse y défend ses intérêts de manière ouverte, constructive et confiante.

J’espère que la navigation sur le site de la Mission de la Suisse auprès de l’Union européenne vous sera utile et agréable. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour nous faire part de vos suggestions ou questions.

Merci de votre visite!