Eurasia Division

The Eurasia Division coordinates bilateral relations between Switzerland and the countries of Eastern Europe, South-Eastern Europe and Central Asia. In the multilateral field it represents Swiss interests in the Council of Europe and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE).

Regional coordination teams

Two teams – Regional Coordination South-Eastern Europe and Regional Coordination Eastern Europe and Central Asia – develop and coordinate bilateral relations between Switzerland and 19 other countries, including Turkey, the Russian Federation and other countries of the former Soviet Union.

The teams draw up the foreign policy guidelines for Switzerland's relations with these states and implement them in close collaboration with the relevant Swiss embassies. A key aspect of the regional coordinators' work is to prepare and accompany visits and talks undertaken by the head of the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs, by the President of the Swiss Confederation and by the State Secretary of the FDFA.

The Council of Europe and OSCE Section coordinates Switzerland's activities in the Council of Europe and takes part in the formulation of the Council's policies on human rights, democracy and the rule of law in collaboration with the other federal departments and the Permanent Representation of Switzerland to the Council of Europe in Strasbourg. Furthermore, the section is responsible for ensuring the coherence of Switzerland's positions within the OSCE. In agreement with the relevant services, it draws up instructions for the Permanent Representation of Switzerland to the United Nations and to the other international organizations in Vienna.