People working in Australia are required to pay income tax on annual earnings above a certain level. Taxpayers must obtain a tax file number (TFN) from the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) which must be notified to the employer. The Australian financial year runs from 1 July to 30 June the following year.

Double taxation

The Convention between the Swiss Confederation and Australia for the Avoidance of Double Taxation with Respect to Taxes on Income came into force on 14 October 2014.This agreement is particularly relevant for Swiss nationals living in Australia who (continue to) receive various forms of income from Switzerland, including income from real property, gainful employment, pensions, dividends and interest. The agreement restricts Switzerland's right to tax income derived from sources in Switzerland and/or requires Australia to offset Swiss taxes against Australian tax payable in respect of that income. Further information on the agreement can be obtained from the State Secretariat for International Finance (SIF).


Innovation and Partnerships

Consular Directorate CD
Effingerstrasse 27
3003 Bern


Helpline +41 800 24-7-365 / +41 58 465 33 33

Start of page